Unprotected Texts: The Bible's Surprising Contradictions About Sex and Desire

Front Cover
Harper Collins, Jan 25, 2011 - Religion - 352 pages
“An explosive, fascinating book that reveals how the Bible cannot be used as a rulebook when it comes to sex. A terrific read by a top scholar.” —Bart Ehrman, author of Misquoting Jesus

Boston University’s cutting-edge religion scholar Jennifer Wright Knust reveals the Bible’s contradictory messages about sex in this thoughtful, riveting, and timely reexploration of the letter of the gospels. In the tradition of Bart Erhman’s Jesus Interrupted and John Shelby Spong’s Sins of Scripture, Knust’s Unprotected Texts liberates us from the pervasive moralizing—the fickle dos and don’ts—so often dictated by religious demagogues. Knust’s powerful reading offers a return to the scripture, away from the mere slogans to which it is so often reduced.
 

What people are saying - Write a review

User ratings

5 stars
0
4 stars
2
3 stars
3
2 stars
0
1 star
0

LibraryThing Review

User Review  - amongstories - LibraryThing

All too often, religious beliefs make their way into arguments surrounding law-making. The huge debate over whether or not gay marriage should be made legal is only one example, but it is a good one ... Read full review

LibraryThing Review

User Review  - aevaughn - LibraryThing

Interesting book, but I find the arguments stretched beyond what the text can bear at times. It does however wrestle with some interesting passages of how Biblical characters dealt with the culture of ... Read full review

Other editions - View all

Common terms and phrases

About the author (2011)

Jennifer Wright Knust is assistant professor of religion at Boston University. She is an ordained American Baptist pastor, and holds a doctorate in religion from Columbia University and a master of divinity from Union Theological Seminary.

Bibliographic information