The Emperor of Nihon-Ja

Front Cover
Random House Children's Publishers UK, Sep 1, 2011 - Children's stories - 512 pages
3 Reviews

The Emperor of Nihon-Ja is the tenth thrilling book in John Flanagan's Ranger's Apprentice series - over eight million sold worldwide.

When Horace travels to the exotic land of Nihon-Ja, it isn't long before he finds himself pulled into a battle that is not his - but one he knows in his heart he must wage. A kingdom teeters on the edge of chaos when the Nihon-Ja emperor, a defender of the common man, is forcibly overthrown, and only Horace, Will and his companions can restore the emperor to the throne.

Victory lies in the hands of an inexperienced group of fighters, and it's anybody's guess who will make the journey home to Araluen . . .

Perfect for fans of J.R.R. Tolkien's Lord of the Rings, T.H. White's The Sword in the Stone, Christopher Paolini's Eragon series and Rick Riordan's Percy Jackson series.

What people are saying - Write a review

Could have been better

User Review  - magus1 - Overstock.com

For a concluding book of a long series I felt the author was either bored or rushed to finish. Too many unsettled plotlines remained at the end. All in all it was a disappointing conclusion for the series. Read full review

Review: The Emperor of Nihon-Ja: Book Ten (Ranger's Apprentice #10)

User Review  - Colleen (of the Crawling Chaos) - Goodreads

Not one of my favorites in the series, which is disappointing since it's the last one (not counting the book of short stories). It's not bad, per se, but it just didn't have that same spark that has ... Read full review

Other editions - View all

About the author (2011)

John Flanagan grew up in Sydney, Australia hoping to be a writer. It wasn't until he wrote a highly uncomplimentary poem about a senior executive at the agency he worked, however, that his talent was revealed. It turned out one of the company directors agreed with John's assessment of the executive, and happily agreed to train John in copywriting.

After writing advertising copy for the next two decades, John teamed with an old friend to develop a television sitcom, "Hey Dad!," which went on to air for eight years.

John began writing "Ranger's Apprentice" for his son, Michael, ten years ago, and is still hard at work on the series. He currently lives in the suburb of Manly, Australia, with his wife. In addition to their son, they have two grown daughters and four grandsons.

Bibliographic information