Front Cover
Berkley Publishing Group (Mm), Jun 1, 1986 - Bond, James (Fictitious character) - 293 pages
37 Reviews
This James Bond thriller involves an attempt to destroy a dangerous neo-Nazi movement.

From inside the book

What people are saying - Write a review

User ratings

5 stars
4 stars
3 stars
2 stars
1 star

Review: Icebreaker (John Gardner's Bond #3)

User Review  - Gary Barrentine - Goodreads

Good paced adventure with everyone's favorite spy-007. Read full review

Review: Icebreaker (John Gardner's Bond #3)

User Review  - Wilde Sky - Goodreads

A British secret service agent is sent to investigate the origin of weapons used by a Neo-Nazi group. I felt this book was just 'so-so', for me it never captured the harsh / immediate nature of the ... Read full review


The Tripoli Incident
A Liking for Blondes
Knives for Dinner

18 other sections not shown

Common terms and phrases

About the author (1986)

John Gardner, one of the authors of the well-known James Bond stories, was born in Northumberland, England on November 20, 1926. He attended Cambridge University and was a member of the Royal Marines. He became a journalist and a critic after leaving the service. Gardner's first novel was "The Liquidator" (1964) and it introduced the character Boysie Oakes. In the 1970's, he wrote a series of novels known as the Moriarty Journals, which brought back Professor Moriarty, Sherlock Holmes' nemesis. In the 1980's, the holders of the James Bond copyright commissioned him to begin a new series with 007. The first Bond novel written by Gardner was "License Renewed" (1981), which was a success. From that point on, Gardner produced a new Bond novel every year, with the exception of 1985, until he retired from the series in 1996. The Bond titles that followed were "For Special Services" (1982), "Icebreaker" (1983), "Role of Honour" (1984), "Nobody Lives Forever" (1986), "No Deals, Mr. Bond" (1987), "Scorpius" (1988), "Win, Lose, or Die" (1989), "Brokenclaw" (1990), "The Man from Barbarossa" (1991), "Death is Forever" (1992), "Never Send Flowers" (1993), "Seafire" (1994), and "Cold" (aka Cold Fall) (1996).

Bibliographic information