Saving for the Future: My Life and the Alaska Permanent Fund

Front Cover
Epicenter Press, 2008 - Biography & Autobiography - 254 pages
0 Reviews
Dave Rose, first executive director of the Alaska Permanent Fund, guides readers through the maze of political and economic issues that shaped the fund. What was the best investement strategy - development loans for Alaskans and Alaska projects, or more purdent investments elsewhere? Should earnings pay for state operations? Can a democracy with an excess of wealth save for future generations?

In 1976, when Alaskans approved a constitutional amendment that annually diverts hundreds of millions of dollars of state petroleum revnue into a special fund, saving money was the issue. Many believed that legislators had wasted an earlier gusher of oil-lease money from Prudhoe Bay, where oil was discovered in 1967.

From a lively insider's perspective, Rose and award-winning journalist and writer Charles Wohlforth tell the story of the Alaska Permanent Fund, which, after thirty years, contains as much money as the total of all private financial assets in the state.

What people are saying - Write a review

We haven't found any reviews in the usual places.

Other editions - View all

About the author (2008)

Dave Rose was the first director of the Alaska Permanent Fund, the first chairman of the Anchorage Assembly for the unified government of Anchorage, and possibly the first Jew to open a kosher New York-style delicatessen in Alaska. Rose was a charming, self-effacing, and charismatic spinner of tales whose personal warmth helped him overcome a wide range of challenges in government finance, the military, family, and community service. Charles Wohlforth is the author of numerous books and articles, and winner of more than two dozen national and regional awards for writing, including the 2004 Los Angels Times Book Prize. A friend of Dave Rose's since childhood, Wohlforth followed Rose's footsteps to the Anchorage Assembly, where he represented the city's downtown area from 1993 to 1999.

Bibliographic information