« PreviousContinue »
of these churches. The net proceeds of these fairs amounted to the large sum of six thousand five hundred dollars. Seven hundred dollars net were also realized for the sisters from a supper given about three years after the fairs.
During the ten years that have passed since the sisters first located a hospital in Columbus, they have received, by donation, from the city council, the sum of eighteen dollars, and three loads of coal from the council committee on the supply of fuel to the poor. This statement is made in justice to the sisters and the community at large, as it is generally supposed and frequently stated that they receive important aid from the city authorities.
The whole number received into the hospital since its opening to this date, December, 1872, is over four thousand. The average number per year is about five hundred. The present number is sixty, of whom eighteen are aged and infirm persons. There is an average of thirty deaths per year in the hospital.
All sick, aged, infirm, and poor persons, without distinction as to religious belief, nationality, or race, are admitted into the hospital, and gratuitously fed, clothed, and cared for. No questions are asked about pay. If the beneficiary can afford to pay, the sisters will not refuse a compensation, but the lack of money is no bar to a participation in their wide and outflowing charity.
There are in the institution eighty-five beds. The second story is devoted to sick and infirm women; the third, to sick and infirm men. There are bath-rooms in every story, supplied with both hot and cold water. The city water-works furnishes water to all parts of the building.
There is a drug store connected with the hospital, where medicines are prepared by the sisters.
Sister Blanka is the superior of the institution. She has sixteen associates.
The spiritual director is Rev. Bernard Hildebrand.
Medical and surgical services are rendered gratuitously by the faculty of Starling Medical College, and Dr. Wm. H. Drury. THE HOUSE OP THE GOOD SHEPHERD, FOR PENITENT FEMALES.
Located on West Broad, corner of Washington street. Spiritual directors—Bishop Sylvester H. Rosecrans, Very Rev. Vicar General J. B. Hemsteger, Mother Superior Sister Gertrude.
Object. This is twofold: 1st. The reformation of penitent women and girls of all ages. 2d. The preservation of female children, by giving them a plain, useful education, and teaching them all kinds of needle-work. Penitents come and go as they like, no compulsion being used to retain them. As a general thing, they do not desire to leave; but should they do so and fall again, they are again received into the institution.
The order from which the above house derives its name was established in 1651, in the city of Caen (Normandy), in France, by the Rev. John Endes, receiving the confirmations of Popes Alexander VII, in 1666, and Benedict XIV, in 1741. In the year 1835, new life and vigor was given the order, by Madame Pelleticr, superioress at Angers, in France, who, before her death in 1868, had established no less than one hundred and ten houses, in all parts of the world, in charge of the sisters of the order.
The happiest results have been produced in Europe by permitting female convicts to spend the last six months of their imprisonment with the sisters, who do their utmost to rescue the unfortunate and instill into their minds the love of virtue and morality.
As their name very properly indicates, like the Divine Master, they seek after the lost sheep, bestowing all their attention, and spending all their time in good works, looking to their amelioration and restoration to society.
The House of the Good Shepherd, in this city, was opened on Spring street, east of High, in May, 1855, in a rented dwelling, remaining there some nine months. The same may be said of this, as of all other good works, that the institution in the start had its trials and difficulties. The small size of its abode checked its growth to a considerable extent, and compelled its inmates to submit to much inconvenience. The good sisters at first being but little known, people did not appreciate all their usefulness, and they received little encouragement. In 1856, the want of more room compelled the change to the present advantageous location, where their facilities are much greater, but still not sufficient for the demands made by penitents, who flock thither from the prisons in our city, from our county infirmary, from our streets, and other places, to find shelter under the benign wing of the Good Shepherd.
The rapid progress of the institution is shown by the following figures: There are at present in the house 39 penitents, and 48 children, making 87 inmates. There are 17 sisters who manage the house, 3 novices, and 1 mother superior, making in all an aggregate of 108 persons in the institution. The inmates are all engaged in some kind of useful employment; such as embroidery, sewing, laundry, and ironing, while others are engaged at the sewing machines. Very fine and good needle-work of all kinds is done in the best style. The inmates, by close application to their work, under the direction of the sisters, become expert seamstresses and embroiders, thus enabling them to support themselves when they return to the world. All are subject to strict rules of discipline, which must be complied with. All manual labor is gone through with in silence and in order. The time, aside from that allowed for rest, meals, and recreation, is devoted to some useful purpose calculated to promote virtue, industry, and the purity of the soul. All work, from the mother superior to the least of the inmates, according as their strength will permit, toward the support of the institution. The aim of the sisters is to make new beings of their charge, and they are fully aware of the fact that souls can not be rescued from bad to good, unless they do themselves what they require others to do. To inspire the inmates with the love of labor and the practice of moral virtues, the sisters themselves bear the greater part of the work done.
The good example shown, and the good treatment the inmates receive at the hands of the sisters, produce such an impression that they naturally feel inclined to perform all they are requested to do. On first entering the house, many feel indisposed to work; but with very little persuasion, their reluctance vanishes, and they soon become satisfied that everything required of them is for their own good. There are at the house of the Good Shepherd no iron doors or armed guards, nor are any severe punishments inflicted for violations of the rules. Notwithstanding this, but few attempts to escape have been made.
The inmates know that the sisters have stronger claims upon them than could be obtained by force or violence. State prisons very often bind the soul as well as the body of the prisoner; but the sisters hold their "prisoners" with the strong claims of moral suasion, love, and affection. They do all in their power to make their charges happy, and many feel so much at home there that they desire to be nowhere else. Truly, may it be called, "Home for the fallen to save the falling."
The institution is commended to the attention and good-will of the public. Orders for any kind of needle-work, sent to the superior, Sister Gertrude, will receive prompt attention.
It is by the labor of the sisters and the inmates, that the house is supported, the receipts from other sources being very small.
THE PRESS—EDUCATIONAL, LITERARY, AND SCIENTIFIC INSTITUTIONS.
From the time the first printing-press was put in operation in Columbus, the city and'county have been abundantly supplied with newspapers of home production. "We have at present a goodly number. Some of them date back many years, while others are of recent origin. A multitude that once flourished and entertained the town and country have ceased to exist. We shall first give sketches of the living papers and periodicals of the day, tracing their genealogies, where they have any, and giving such account of their present condition as we have been able to obtain. Brief notices will then be given of extinct papers and periodicals not previously described.
THE OHIO STATE JOURNAL.
Issues daily and weekly editions. J. M. Comly, S. M. Smith, proprietors and publishers; editor, General James M. Comly; city editor, Samuel Johnson; foreman of news-room, James Turney; general business manager, A. W. Francisco. Office, corner High, Chapel, and Pearl streets.