Page images

Overley, and fitted it up for a school house. The first teacher was James Finley, a veteran of the Revolution. He was followed by a

_ Mr. McIntosh, who was also a soldier in the Revolutionary war. The

first female teacher was Tirza Robinson, and Abigail March was her successor. Since those far-away days, schools have been established according to the needs of the people, until at the present time there are seven modern buildings in the township where the children and youth receive practical instruction, under a corps of capable and speciallyqualified teachers. The course of study is a graded one, having a definite object in view; and, when completed, a diploma of graduation. from the common schools entitles its holder to special consideration on entering institutions of higher order.

In this township, as in some others, the Methodists were the picneers in religious effort. The only churches existing in the township at present are of that denomination. Mussclman’s mill was a preaching appointment, established as early as 1806, by that pioneer in Methodism, Rev. James Quinn. Michael Cryder, sr., was one of the earliest local preachers and a zealous worker in the early religious organizations. A class was formed very early in the history of the settlement, composed of Henry Musselman and wife, John Cryder and wife, Jonas Rudisill and wife, Mr. and Mrs. Coleman and others. Henry Musselman was an active member, and was the first class leader. In 1834 he donated to the Hopetown congregation suflicient land for a church site and cemetery, and the church was erected the same year. Previous to this, public services were held in the log school house, in the homes of members, or in “God’s first temples.” It may not be sacrilegious to repeat the facts of an incident which is said to have occurred in one of the last named “temples” : A very enthusiastic Methodist camp-meeting was in progress, in a beautiful grove belonging to Emanuel Cryder. The worshipers gave vent to their enthusiasm by marching and singing: “We are marching through Immanuel’s ground.” Mr. Cryder, believing this some kind of thank-offering or recognition of his kindness in allowing the use of his land, promptly responded : “You’s welcome to it; it’s paid for.”

The church at Hopetown has been in existence since 1834, and is the strongest religious organization in the township. Mount Carmel chapel became a fixture in Springfield township about 1851, though the organization of a Methodist congregation known as Mount Carmel church had a much earlier existence across the line in Harrison township. A meeting house of the pioneer period stood near Walnut creek, and services were conducted previous to its existence at the house of Thomas McNeal. These, together with the congregation at- Overley’s chapel, constituted the religious organizations of the township.

Hopetown is the only village in Springfield township, :1 very old town, though it never made much progress in a business way. As early as 1805, Jacob Weider kept a tavern at the cross roads, or at a point where two diverging roads separated. But the village was not laid out until the spring of 1819, when Henry Musselman, who owned the land, had the village site surveyed. Jacob Weidefs plant consisted of a still, brewery, and a long building of nine rooms, which was appropriately termed the “long nine.” This was the hotel property, but the general title of the place was “Barley Forks,” owing, no doubt, to the brewery being located there. On the platting of the town, the name was changed to Hope, and afterward to Hopet0W11The town has one store, which has been in existence, under difierent proprietors, for more than eighty years. Peter Slimmer was the first merchant. There is also a church of the Methodist Episcopfll denomination, a school, and mechanical shops. On the town Bite, proper, there are probably twenty families, though the surroundlng territory is quite thickly populated. _ The pioneer mills of the township have long since ceased to exist» and Springfield is now an exclusively agricultural district. Henry Mussehnan’s mill was the first erected on the Scioto and among the first in the county. It was southwest of the present site of Hopetown, and was erected about 17 97. At first it was‘a crude afialr, hastily and cheaply constructed of logs, and operated by home p0W@1’But it was a real blessing to the pioneers, and they gave it liberal patronage. Some years later Mr. Musselman erected a large frame mill, but that, too, has gone out of existence. Another saw mill was built on Spring branch by Michael Cryder in 1799, and l\1S son, Daniel Cryder, built a grist mill at the same location about 1817. Major Kilgore erected a grist mill on the river in the south" west corner of the township at a very early date. John Outright and James Miller had a mill on the Scioto in the southwestern part ‘ff the township and had a dam near what is now the east end of Mfilll


street. But all have passed away, as have the enterprising pi0I1eB1'5 who founded them.



sioners on the 5th of March, 1811. Its boundaries are irreg

ular, with the exception of the southern, which borders on

Pike county. The commissioners’ order in establishing the township read as follows: “Ordered, that a part of Scioto township and a part of Twin be erected into a separate township, beginning at the mouth of Indian creek; thence up the Scioto river to the mouth of Paint creek; thence up Paint creek to the mouth of North Point; thence up North Paint to the upper line of Scioto township; thence with said line to the mouth of Cattail run; thence with a. line to include the in.habita.nts south of Vincent Haller' s bottom on to the mouth of Fergus Moore’s run; thence with Gilfillin’s run, taking the Sulphur lick to the thirteen-mile tree on the State road; thence with Mifiiin township line to the line of Franklin township; thence with said line to the place of beginning. Said township to be known as Huntington township. The place of elections to be the house of Charles Mitchell.” At the first election held after the township organization on April 1, 1811, David Murphy, Frederick Bishop and Daniel Chestnut were elected justices of the peace.

Huntington, as a whole, may be characterized as very rough and broken land. The valleys are narrow, bounded by steep hillsides which are often rocky. The land which might be termed lcvel consists principally of terraces or plateaus on the hillsides, and an occasional lcvel spot on the summit of the hills. The soil is not generally as fertile as elsewhere in the county. though there are some fine farms in the township. The rock formation is mostly of sandstone, or freestone and shale. The hillsides sloping northward are covered with a rich deposit of black, sandy loam, mixed with gravel, and these are much more productive than the southern slopes, another evidence of the terminal moraine of the pre-historic glacial period. The diversified topography of this township renders it exceptionally rich in natural sccnery. The highest pinnacles and bald knobs rising to a


T HIS township was established by order of the county commis


height of five hundred feet above the Scioto afiord a commanding view which extends far beyond the boundaries of the to 1pSome of these, and other wild, romantic spots, have long been known as places of resort for picnicing parties and tourists.

Alum cliffs, on the western and southern banks of Paint creek, mark the edge of the ice in the glacial age, and the surface of the cliffs shows many horizontal marks of glaciation. Some of the most perfect examples of river-terraces in the country are along the creek 111 this township.’ Alum cliffs were once noted as a source of alum. Saltpeter was also found along these cliffs, and the two salts were taken out and prepared for market, on a limited scale, in the early days. General McArthur dug a salt well on land which was subsequently owned by John Dunn, and this proved a feature of much importance in the early days when salt was expensive. The $1611 yielded abundantly; but, with the ever restless spirit of American enterprise, he sought more, and, in digging for an inexhaustible supply, lost what he had. A strong vein of fresh water was st-rucli, and this neutralized the saline product. _

The streams in Huntington are Paint creek, and its tr1buta1'.7r Ralston run, flowing north, while Indian creek and Crooked creek flow to the southeast into the Scioto. The interior streams are short: but the territory is well watered with excellent springs, partic_11lfll"lY in the northern and western portions of the township. Hunt1ng1L011 is specially adapted to grazing purposes, an industry which rccelves

' the careful attention of the provident farmers, with favorable results

Fruit culture is also carried on very profitably, apples and peachB5 being the staples in that line, though all kinds of small fruits succeed admirably. The surface of the township was originally 00_V' ered with heavy timber, including all the varieties usually found 111 the county. The dense forest, hills and caves afforded hiding Pl!"-'99 for all kinds of game. _ _ The “Lost Race” has left several evidences of their pre-historic existence in Huntington township, but none of the works are largeOn the east side of Black run, on the Minney farm, is a St0119 wall, enclosing about an acre of land. There are inner walls through the work, forming partitions, or divisions. The £01711 of the outer wall is nearly that of a square. l\{ucl1 of the stone l1fl5 been removed, and only a rude outline appears. when first observed by white men. the walls were from four to six feet high. T0 the osuth of this, about two hundred yards, is a stone circle one hflfldfed feet in diaineter and five or six feet high. In the center of this 15 *1 large stone mound some ten feet high. On the John Dunn'ffi1ma on Paint creek, is a circular earthwork, three or four feet high and about a hundred feet in diameter. On the adjoining farm fire two mounds, one about eight feet high and twentv-five feet in diameter, the Other considerably longer, being sixty feet long, forty feet Wide, find elght

to ten feet high. A large mound is located on the farm formerly owned by James Steele, which, for many years, was a breeding place for foxes, being completely honeycombed by their persistent burrowing.

Unlike the older townships, Huntington was settled several years before the township was organized, the territory then being embraced within the townships of Scioto and Twin. A number of the earliest s_ettlers removed from the malaria-infested bottoms of the Scioto and Paint to the higher and more healthful lands in Huntington. This movement was noticeable in the settlement of other townships, but the valleys of the county are now considered as healthful as any other locations.

William Richie was the first settler on Ralston’s run, where he located and built his cabin before 1800, and where he spent his remaining years. Benjamin Ralston was the second to locate in that vicinity. He was a native of Vermont and emigrated to the Scioto country with his wife and one son. Two sons and three daughters were born to them after locating in Ross county. The youngest son, whose name was Robert, was born in 1804, and spent a long life in Huntington township, living within a few rods of his birthplace. In old age he took pleasure in stating that he had never been more than forty miles from home, and never rode on a railroad car. He marricd “aria Taylor, and came into possession of the parental home upon which his father had planted one of the first orchards in the county. Benjamin Ralston perished from exposure when lost in the forest while hunting.

Michael Thomas came on horseback from Pennsylvania in 1796. He bought one hundred acres of land near Chillicothe, but soon afterward traded that for five hundred acres in Huntington township. Mr. Thomas served as a scout under General Wayne, and was with that commander on his expedition to the Maumee valley. He had many narrow escapes from the Indian bullets and tomahawks in the discharge of his perilous duty. He was twice married, and had nine children.

Paul Strcevoy was a hero of the Revolution, and served from Brandywine to Yorktown. He came from Pennsylvania, and settled in Chillicothe in 1800, but a few years later took up his residence in Huntington township, locating near the Limestone road. His three sons, Daniel, Joseph and Peter, were soldiers in the war of 1812. Daniel died soon after being discharged, and Joseph mysteriously disappcared. Peter returned to Huntington, where he was an honored citizen and useful man. He was locally prominent as a hunter, and served many years as a supervisor of road building.

The Chesnut family was one prominent and early established in Ross county. Daniel Chestnut brought his family, consisting of wife and five children, to the Scioto valley in 1798, having first located

« PreviousContinue »