Page images

for good in the eomnuniity, and is today one of the best known and most influential religious organizations in the township.

The Friends church in Londonderry was organizedin 1865 by John Henry Douglas and Gresham Perdue. The first meetings of this sect were held in the Methodist‘ church, which the congregation occupied for three or four years. About 1869 they erected a cllurch building in the west. part of the village, which has been occupied continuously. Previous to the completion of the building, the names of

- some thirt_v or forty members were added to the organizing force, thus

demonstrating that there was a liberal following of the teachings of Fox and Penn in the connuunity.

A burial ground was established at Schooley’s station about 1800, and this was probably the first within the bounds of the township. A few _vears later a. graveyard was opened 21 short distance north of Londonderry, in which William Cox was buried in 1808. There is a. cemetery connected with the Friends church in Londonderry, and another in connection with Concord church, located to the west of Rattlesnake knob.

A regular mail route was opened between Chillicothe and Athens in 1832. The first carrier was Jacob .\Iinton, who traveled on horseback. A few years later, as the roads were improved, a regular stage line was put in operation, and continued until the completion of the railroad, when the latter absorbed its business.



territorial authority for the convenience of the people in

the adjust.n1ent of loall affairs. Justices and other neces

sary civil ofiicers were appointed by the governor. On the date above written, an act was passed by the State legislature, prfr viding “That the associate judges of the court. of common pleas, 111 each and every county within this State, shall meet on the tenth day of May next, at the places where courts are to be held, and shall PTOoeed to lay out their countries, 1'espectively, into a convenient nunlher of townships.” In accordance with the provisions of this law, existing boundaries were aflirmetl, changed or abandoned, according ‘£0 tl19 decisions of the judges, while some new organizations were eiiE6lBdThe second section of the act provided, further: “That the judges aforesaid shall, at the time and place aforesaid, appoint. to each t0'W1l' ship a proper number of justices of the peace, who shall be elected 011 the twenty-first day of June, at such place in each township the said judges may direct, agreeable to the provisions of an act entitled, ‘An act directing the mode of (umdueting elections.’ ”

It is stated, and generally understood, that Scioto is the Old?-‘St township in Rea county, and this is probable; but the court I60°1d of the proceedings of the associate judges of Ross county shows that “Reuben Abrams, Willia.n1 Patton and Felix Renick, associate judges of Ross count-y, met at the courthouse on Tuesday, the tenth of M8)’, 1803, and proceeded to 1'0,';'1llato and estahlisli the boundaries Of The different townships in this county, and to apportion the justices of thepeaoe to be elected in and for each.” The same record sh0WB T1191 eleven townships were then established for Ross county, and defines the boundaries then determined for Scioto township. as f0-Hows: “Beginning at the forks of the road above the house of Henry Massier thence south twenty-five degrees, west to the road leading to Swearingen’s mill; thence with said road to Paint» creek: thence up Paint Creek T0 the big narrows, below Vincent Hallei-’s; thence south fl'0"1 the 10W61‘ end of said narrows to the upper boundaries of P88 P09

~ REVIOUS to April 16, 1803, Soioto township existed under township; thence with said‘ boundary to the beginning.” The qualified electors of this township were required to “meet at the courthouse in Chillicothe on the twenty-first day of the following June, then and there to elect four justices of the peace.” Soon after this the board of county commissioners was created who, by virtue of their office, had jurisdiction of the matter of erecting new townships and changing township boundaries. Since that time much territory formerly embraced within Ross county has been absorbed in the organization of new counties, and some entire townships transferred. The remaining townships have been subdivided in the erection of new ones, Scioto contributing it.s share to this end.


September '6, 1806, tl1e south part of Scioto and the northern part of Pee Pee (now in Pike county) were united in forming the present township of Franklin. August. 13, 1807, the line between Scioto and Twin townships was readjusted as follows: “Beginning at Paint creek, at the upper of the narrows at the mouth of Cattail run; thence a due south line to the dividing ridge between Sunfish and Paint creeks.” On the 23d of August, 1809, it was “ordered that the line between Union and Scioto townships be run as follows: Beginning on the east bank of North Paint, on the line between James Porter and Robert. Mt-Dill; thence a straight line to the junction of the Deer creek and Limestone roads.” June 20, 1810, a part of Union township was set off and attached to Scioto township “by a line beginning at the fork of the Deer creek and Limestone roads; thence it straight line to the southeast corner of (‘olman’s survey on main Paint; thence with the southwest line of said survey to the creek.” This action restored a. portion of the territory previously detached by the order of August 23d, 1809. On the 5th of March, 1811, Scioto contributed a slice of territory from the southwest part, in forming Huntington township. 4

April 8, 1818, the last important change in boundaries was made, under the provisions of the following: “Ordered that Scioto township bo extended from the mouth of the north fork of Paint creek, thence up the main Paint, with the meanders thereof, to the mouth of Cattail run; from thence a straight direction to the bridge on the north fork of Paint creek; thence down said creek to the intersection of a. line run by’ Jeremiah McLene between Scioto a.nd Union townships.” The boundaries of the township are very irregular, as are nearly all of those in the military district-. Scioto township has a greater extent of water boundary than any other township in the county, having about eight miles on the Scioto river and five miles on Paint creek. Adjoining townships are Springfield and Liberty on the east, Franklin southeast, Huntington on the south, Twin on the west, and Union on the north.

The topographical featmes of the township are peculiarly striking, and embrace a great variety of natural scenery. The broad and fer

tile valley of the Scioto, with the Paint creek valley, equally as rich and productive, are the principal sources of agricultural wealth. That this particular spot was chosen by the first settlers of the valley, who had the choice of a vast scope of country from which to select, is evidence sufiicicnt of the wonderfully productive character of the soil. The adjacent. hill lands, which in some instances approach the character of mountains, are also well adapted to agricultural and horticultural purposes. On the summit of some of the highest hills are found broad tablelauds, or plateaus, which are well improved and highly productive. Xear the city of (‘hillicothe, at the western edge of the valley, is a series of high hills assuming the form of a semicircle, from north to the south of the city, touching‘ the city at 0\1_'3 point. From the summit of this a niagnificent view of the city 15 afiorded, including a broad expanse of the valley, above and bel0\_vTo the eastward may be seen the mountainous range of hills In Springfield township, including Mount- Logan, of historic fame, and several others of almost equal altitude. On the lofty crest of one of these hills, within the limits of (‘hillicot-lie, is now located Grflllfi 'View cc1neter_v, the principal burial place of the city. From T1119 point, which marks the angle between the Scioto and Paint creek _Vfllleys, and commanding a view of both, the sight is most entrancingIt is said that Daniel \\'ebster, on one of his tours through this country, visited this now sacred spot, and afterward remarked that he “had seldom seen a more magnificent. landscape than the one there P_I'9' sented to the eye." Bayard Tavlor, the great traveler and naturalist, reiterated \Vc-bstei-'s statement. in 1853. Rocky Gorge or “Alum Clifl"s,” is a geological freak on the southwestern bounda1'_\,' Of The township, which has been visited by many geologists of more ‘£11811 local celebrity. This interesting point is located on Paint creek, and is geologically termed the “new vallev” of that stream, caused by The recession of the waters during the prehistoric glacial period. Th! phenomenon consists in a. radical change of the course of the c-1'B€k, wherein it was forced to leave the valleiv and cut its way through the rugged blutts in a gorge which is estimated to be from one hundred to two hundred feet. or more in depth, with steep, precipitous Wjllls of rock. The adjacent bluffs are at some points along this course 115 high as five hundred feet, in a continuous wall of rock, broken 0005' sionally on the north side by the passage of small streams which flow from the north. The waters of Paint creek pass through this new channel for a distance of about four miles, when they re-enter the Old course-\, and pass on as before. It is assuredly a most pi0f1\1'95q“e SP0?’ H-Iltl has flttracted the attention of noted geologists of the Stat?The first settlers of this township were largely of the class Of dflflllg frontlersmen who accompanied the Massie pa1't-S’, and were identlfi with the settlement of Chillicothc. Some rernained in the Vlnage for a time, and subsequently sought homes on the rich lands adjflcenh while others came a few years later, so that the lands of Scioto township were very generally occupied by actual settlers at an early date in the history of the last century.

General Massie made his first surveys within the present limits of Scioto township in 1793, but the occupancy of the lands was deferred because of Indian troubles until the settlement of C-llillicothe, in 1796. The first snr\-'e_vs were made along the Scioto river and in the valleys of the two forks of Paint creek, because of the superior quality of the lands at these points. The less desirable lands remote from the stream, and in the hilly districts, were not surveyed or entered until a later period, in fact a few surveys \vere made in these districts as late as 1847.

V'rginia.ns held, by far, the larger part of the lands included in the first surveys, many of whom never settled upon their holdings, but held them for sale to actual settlers. Among the earliest of these surveys were Survey No. 592, of eleven hundred acres, made of \Villiam Reynolds, October 5, 1793; Survey X0. 1,260, one hundred

' acres, made for William Lawson, October 6, 1793 ; Survey No. 2,216, of five hun.dred and thirty-four acres, made for Thomas Lewis, October 7, 1793. On the same date Survey No. 562, of two thousand acres, made for Francis Coleman; Survey No. 529, of twelve hundred acres, made for Mayo (‘arriu_e;ton, November 3, 1793; Survey No. 2,217, of fourteen hundred and ninety acres, made for Nicholas Talliaferro, June 16, 1797; Survey X0. 1,418, of one thousand acres,

made for John Harris, March 18, 1799; Survey No. 235, of twelve‘

hundred acres, made for (‘harles Scott, September 10, 1800; Survey No. 4,192, of four hundred and fifty acres, made for Duncan l\1cArthnr, March 29, 1805; Survey No. 4,294, of four hundred and fifty-fi\'e acres, made for Elias Laugluuu, June 3, 1805; Survey X0. 7,861, of one hundred acres, made for Mathew llobson, Xo\'ei1ibcr 9, 1813; Survey X0. 4,727, of two hundred acres, made for John and William Messhimon, May 15, 1815; Survey No. 3.506, of two hun-» dred and tifty-five acres, made for (‘adwallader Wallace, September 2, 1815; Survey X0. 6,729, of two hundred acres, made for Aiigils L. Langham, April 3, 1917; Survey _\'o. 9,273, of two hundred acres, made for ('adwallader \Vallaee, June 13, 1818. The last survey in the township, so far as the records show, was made under No. 15,062, embracing nineteen acres. This was on the 15th of February, 1847. The Reynolds survey, the first made in the township, was pur

' chased, mostly, by two brothers, John and \Villia'm Patton. It lies

just south of Chillicothe. John Patton came in 1796 and built a tw -story log house on the land and moved his family from Kentucky and occupied the house in 1797. In 1801 he built a stone addition, also two stories high, and this is yet standing. After sixty years, tho log part was replaced with brick. \\"illiaiu Patton ezuuc to Scioto II—24

« PreviousContinue »