Page images

Beauseant Commandery, K. T., of Brattleboro. He is one of the stockholders of the Vermont National Bank.

Captain Robertson married, in 1854, Abbie A. Benson, daughter of Doctor Amora and Abigail (Drown) Benson, of Landgrove, Vermont. Three children have been born of their union, namely: Fred E., in business with his father, married Margaret Ann Towle, and they have one child, Ruth; Frank M., who attended the Stanford Military Institute and was graduated from Eastman's Business College in 1876, is associated in business with his father and brother, being bookkeeper for the firm; and Helen M., who was educated at St. Agnes School, in Bellows Falls, Vermont.


Elihu Barber Taft, of Burlington, Vermont, well and favorably known as a lawyer and also in political and scientific circles throughout the country, was born in Williston, Vermont, March 25, 1847. His great-grandfather, a native of Connecticut, was an active participant in the Continental army and was with General Washington at Valley Forge, where the army went through such a terrible siege of exposure and suffering. After his discharge he removed to Shaftsbury, Vermont: His grandfather, Elijah Taft, was a native of Shaftsbury, Bennington county, but in 1818 located in Williston, Chittenden county; he died at South Burlington, Vermont, January 4, 1881, at the age of eighty-four years.

Eleazer Taft, father of Elihu B. Taft, is a farmer who has always lived an honest and temperate life, and whose religion is the Golden Rule, and he now lives in retirement at Essex Junction, Vermont. He has attained the ripe old age of eighty vears, and still enjoys excellent health. For many years he served in the capacity of selectman for South Burlington, Vermont. He married Ellen Barber, who was born in Williston, Vermont, and the following named children were born to them: Enos W., of Jericho Center; Elihu Barber; and George K. Taft, of Underhill, Vermont. The mother of these children died at the age of fifty-six years.

Elihu B. Taft was educated in the common schools and Williston Academy, and this was supplemented by a classical course in the University

of Vermont, which he entered in 1867, graduating therefrom in 1871. Four years afterward he received the degree of Master of Arts from his alma mater. He entered his name as a law student, in 1870, with the well known attorneys, Messrs. Wales & Taft, at Burlington, and pursued his legal studies with them during his last year in the university. On April 1, 1873, he was admitted to practice at the bar of Chittenden county court, and soon after the supreme court of the state, and on the motion of Hon. E. J. Phelps, at the February term, 1879, was admitted as an attorney in the United States district and circuit courts. Mr. Taft has been a successful lawyer for over thirty years in Burlington, and during all that long period of time his professional integrity and ability have never been questioned, and he has ever maintained the character of an upright man, an honest and able lawyer, and a good citizen.

Mr. Taft has been a most extensive traveler, not only in the new but also in the old world. He visited the Centennial at Philadelphia, the region of the great lakes and copper mines of Michigan, is familiar with the scenery on the western side of the Rocky Mountains, the Yosemite Valley, the Yellowstone National Park, and the Pacific coast from San Francisco to Puget Sound. Nor has he neglected places of interest nearer his native state, having made extensive tours through Canada, sailing down the St. Lawrence and up the gloomy Saguenay. The winter and spring of 1887 he spent in the south and southwest, visiting New Orleans, Galveston, and the city of Mexico; he also made a trip to the top of the volcano Popocatapetl, went down into the crater, being one of two persons to do this. He visited the petrified forest of Arizona, and the Grand Canyon of the Colorado; his last and most extended journey was in 1889, when he visited the most important cities and countries of the eastern hemisphere, including Paris, Rome, Bombay, Calcutta, Benares, Cairo, Jerusalem, Smyrna, Athens, Constantinople, Vienna, Cologne and cities of Denmark, Russia, Sweden, Norway, North Cape, Land of the Midnight Sun, Scotland, England, Ireland and Holland, concluding with a visit to Paris, where ten days were occupied at the great exposition before he turned his steps homeward.

Politically Mr. Taft is a Republican, and has been honorably recognized by his party and the people. He has served several terms as school commisisoner; was one of the board of aldermen, being president of the board for four out of five years; in 1888 was elected senator from Chittenden county, and during the session of that year was made chairman of the general committee, one of the most important in the legislature. He has been city attorney for two years; chairman of the Republican city committee many terms; chairman of, the Republican county committee, and is the fourteenth oldest in point of service in the city council. Mr. Taft has ever been a zealous Freemason, and as soon as he arrived at man's estate received the obligations of Ancient Craft Masonry in Webster Lodge No. 61, of Winooski. He was a charter member of Burlington Lodge No. ioo, at Burlington, of which he is a past master. He is past grand recorder and past grand treasurer and past grand senior warden of the Grand Commandery of Vermont; a member of the Nobles of the Mystic Shrine and has attained the thirty-third degree in the Ancient and Accepted Scottish Rite; in all of the different bodies of this last order he has worthily presided. He is a life member of the American Society for the Advancement of Science, and his life-long study of natural history entitles him to rank among the foremost of amateur naturalists, to which fact his large private cabinet of birds, fossils, shells and minerals will bear ample testimony. In 1874 he was appointed United States deputy collector of internal revenue of the Third district of Vermont, serving in that capacity until his resignation in 1881. On April 1, 1875, Mr. Taft married Lucia A. Johnson, daughter of Anson S. and Agnes (Stuart) Johnson, and her death occurred December 15, 1875.


Dr. Frank Lamb, an enterprising citizen of Bradford, Vermont, is the son of Joseph Lamb, who settled on Lake Fairlee, in the town of Fairlee, where he engaged in farming, subsequently removing to Ryegate, and later to McIndoe. His politics were those of the Democratic party. He married Mary Woodbury. Fol

lowing are the names of their children, all of whom reached maturity: Mary ; John, who died in 1903; Charles; Louisa: Alvira; Arthur; Frank, mentioned at length hereinafter; Joseph, deceased; Asa; Lydia; Mrs. Maggie Baldwin; and Frederick. Mr. Lamb's death took place at Monroe, New Hampshire, when he was seventy-two years old, and his wile passed away at the age of seventy-six. During the latter part of his life Mr. Lamb was a resident of Monroe, New Hampshire.

Frank Lamb, son of Joseph and Mary (Woodbury) Lamb, was bor n October 5, 1858, at Ryegate, Vermont, and received his education in the schools of his native place, and also at Mclndoe Academy. After leaving school he followed various pursuits, and learned the carpenter's trade. This occupation, combined with the business of a builder, he followed for many years in Bradford, where a large number of houses were erected under his supervision. Meanwhile he pursued the study of veterinary science, and for the last sixteen years has devoted the greater part of his time to the practice of his profession, having all the practice he is able to handle. Politically he is a Democrat, and his personal popularity is sufficiently attested by the fact that he has held various local offices, having served as trustee of the village and mayor for two years, and being now deputy sheriff, a position which he has held for eight years. He affiliates with Minerva Lodge, F. & A. M.; belongs to the Independent Order of Odd Fellows; and is a member of the Methodist Episcopal church.

Dr. Lamb married Mrs. Lizzie A. Coffrin, daughter of Joseph Eastman, of Lawrence, Massachusetts, but later of Topsham, Vermont. They have had one son, Nelson Frank, born March 9, 1888. By her first marriage Mrs. Lamb had one son, Kirk Joseph, who married Ruby Bixby, and who is engaged in the insurance business at Bradford. Mrs. Lamb is also a member r,f the Methodist church, and Naoma Rebekah Lodge, I. O. O. F.

The Eastman family is an ancient and honorable one, having been founded in this country by Roger Eastman and his brothers, who settled respectively in New Hampshire, Massachusetts and Connecticut. Isaac Eastman, the grandfather of Mrs. Lamb, was born in Henniker, New Hampshire, where he passed the greater part of his life, removing subsequently to Topsham, Vermont. He was a wheelwright and held various town offices. He married Lovisa Loveland, and they had the following children: Joseph, mentioned hereinafter; and Mary, who married William Mace, of California, where they resided. Isaac Eastman died at Topsham, Vermont, at the age of eighty-two.

Joseph Eastman, son of Isaac and Lovisa (Loveland) Eastman, was born at Pittsford, and was for many years overseer in the cotton mill at Methuen, Massachusetts. While a resident of Topsham, Vermont, he held many town offices, and has always been a zealous member of the Congregational church. He married Mary E. Emerson, a member of the same family to which the poet Ralph Waldo Emerson belonged, and they were the parents of the following children: Kirk N., who served in the Civil war: Josephine, who married James Coffrin; Elizabeth, who married James Coffrin, and is now the wife of Dr. Lamb; Charlotte, who became the wife of C. A. Morgan; Ida E., who married Edward P. Stearns; and Nellie L., who became the wife of Frederick Bradford. Mrs. Eastman died in 1888, and Mr. Eastman is still living, in Providence, Rhode Island, at the age of eighty-four.


One of the representative farmers and stockraisers of Arlington is Andrew H. Judson, who throughout his active business life has been prominently identified with the agricultural interests of this section of the state. He is a native of Bennington county, his birth having occurred in Sunderland, May 7, 1838, and he belonged to an old and honored family of this state. The first to locate in Vermont was his grandfather, Mica Judson, a native of Stratford, Connecticut, who came to Arlington at an early day but later removed to Sunderland and from there to Williston, where his death occurred. He was prominently identified with public affairs and served as selectman and in other town offices.

Andrew Judson, the grandfather of Andrew H. Judson, was also born in Stratford, Connecticut, in-1771, and accompanied his father on his

removal to Vermont. After living in Arlington for some years he removed to Sunderland, and there spent the remainder of his life, dying at the age of sixty-nine years. He also took an important part in town politics and filled several offices, including that of selectman. He married Deborah Harris, whose father was killed near Lake George during the Revolutionary war, while fighting for the freedom of the colonies; she died at the age of seventy years, and all of her eight children are now deceased.

Andrew Judson, Jr., son of these parents, was born and reared in Sunderland, and spent his entire life on his father's farm, where he died at the ripe old age of seventy-four years. He held such town offices as selectman and lister, and was highly respected and estemed by all who knew him. In early manhood he wedded Miss Mary Lytle, who was born in Salem, Vermont, in 1814, and still survives her husband. Her father, David Lytle, was a native of Ireland, and on his emigration to America settled in Salem, Vermont, becoming one of the pioneer farmers of that region. Later he removed to Sunderland, where his death occurred. His wife, who bore the maiden name of Margaret Rowan, was born in Salem and was a daughter of John Rowan, who was also a native of Ireland and came to the new world in 1773, participating in the Revolutionary war, and taking part in the battle of Bennington; he died in 1846 at the extreme old age of one hundred and one years. To David Lytle and wife were born five children, and the family all held membership in the Presbyterian church. Andrew and Mary (Lytle) Judson had two children, Andrew H., and Eugene M., who lives with his brother.

Andrew H. Judson spent his early years in Sunderland, and is indebted to its common schools for his preliminary education, which was supplemented by a course at Mt. Anthony Seminary in Bennington. During his boyhood he became thoroughly familiar with all the duties which fall to the lot of the agriculturist, and continued to aid his father in the work of the home farm until the latter's death. In 1882 he removed to his present farm in Arlington, and has since successfully engaged in its operation in connection with his brother, carrying on business under the firm name of A. H. & E. M. Judson. Like his ancestors, he has been prominently identified with local politics, and has been called upon to fill all of the town offices, including those of selectman, town clerk and lister, the duties of which he has most ably and satisfactorily discharged.

Eugene M. Judson was educated at the same seminary which his brother attended, and throughout life they have followed farming together. He was married February 11, 1874, to Miss Lucy Boardman, who was born in Francestown, New Hampshire, and they have one daughter, Nellie, now the wife of Horace R. Lawrence, of East Arlington. Mrs. Judson's father, Micah Boardman, was born December 21, 1806, and spent his early life in Francestown, New Hampshire, whence he removed to Northfield, Vermont, and in 1862 to Arlington, where he died September 6, 1875; by trade he was a shoemaker; he married Elizabeth P. Wilcox, who was born May 4, 1819, and died January 25, 1851, and their only child was Lucy.


Colonel Amasa S. Tracy, a veteran of the Civil war, and well known in many important places in Vermont, owing to his long connection with the custom service, was born March 16, 1829, at Dover, Maine, the third child of David and Sarah Fowler (Sawyer) Tracy. The family descended from Lieutenant Thomas Tracy, who came to New England from England in 1636, and about 1640 settled in Wethersfield, Connecticut. He was one of the first proprietors of Nor, wich, Connecticut, in 1657.

Colonel Tracy's education was acquired at the academy in Farmington, Maine. When in his sixteenth year he left his home in Farmington, where his father had resided for several years, and took up his residence in Uxbridge, Massachusetts, where he found employment, and later became interested in a cotton factory. After a short period he returned to Vermont, and worked at the carpenter trade until the breaking out of the Civil war, when Colonel Tracy, then thirtytwo years old, enlisted in a company organized in Vergennes, Vermont, of which he was elected first lieutenant, and assigned to the Second Regiment, Vermont Volunteer Infantry; he was mustered into the United States service on June 20,

1861, and immediately left with his regiment for Washington, D. C. In July his regiment was brigaded with the third, fourth and fifth Maine regiments under command of Colonel O. O. Howard, and Lieutenant Tracy was detailed as provost marshal on Colonel Howard's staff. The first battle in which he participated was that of Bull Run on July 21, 1861. After this battle the Second Regiment was brigaded with the third and fourth Vermont regiments, that had been raised and sent to the front under the command of General W. F. (Baldy) Smith. In 1861 the fifth and sixth Vermont regiments were assigned to the brigade, forming the famous Vermont Brigade, and in 1864 the Eleventh Regiment was added to the brigade. In February,

1862, Lieutenant Tracy was promoted to be captain of Company H, and on April 21, 1864, was commissioned major of the regiment, and in the same year was commissioned lieutenant colonel, and commanded the regiment until the end of the war. Colonel Tracy was breveted colonel of volunteers for gallantry in the final attack on the rebel line at Petersburg, Virginia, April 2, 1865, and he was commissioned colonel of the Second Vermont Regiment from that date. He commanded the old Vermont Brigade at the battle of Cedar Creek in the Shenandoah valley, and he was the first officer to greet General Sheridan on his arrival from Winchester at the end of his spirited ride so splendidly described in T. Buchanan Reid's excellent poem. General Sheridan's line of battle was re-formed on his (Tracy's) brigade at Cedar Creek, and Colonel Tracy was awarded a medal of honor for his brave and gallant service in that engagement. He was severely wounded in the charge on Marye's Heights, May 3, 1863, and at Cedar Creek October 19, 1864. Colonel Tracy was engaged in the following battles: Young's Mills, Bull Run, Lee's Mills, Williamsburg, Golding's Farm, Savage Station, White Oak Swamp, Crampton-s Gap, Antietam, Fredericksburg, Mane's Heights, Charleston, Opequan, Winchester, Fisher's Hill, Mount Jackson, Cedar Creek, Petersburg, March 25, 1865, and Petersburg, April 2, 18C5, and Sailor's Creek, which took place on April 6, 1865. This record was obtained from "Officers of the Army and Navy," L. R. Hamersly & Company, Philadelphia, 1893. Colonel Tracy served in the Civil war four years, one month and five days.

Upon his return from the war Colonel Tracy was engaged in mercantile business in Middleboro, Vermont, and also acted in the capacity of postmaster for twelve years. For the following six years he was engaged in the manufacture of carriages, and for the past thirteen years has been employed in the custom service in the following named places: Burlington, Windmill Point, Albnrg, Richford, St. Albans and North Troy, Vermont; at the latter place he has been engaged for the past six years as a deputy collector of customs.

Colonel Tracy was united in marriage to Miss Helen Sarah Dow in February, 1849, and they resided in her father's house in Leicester, Vermont. Mrs. Tracy died in August of the same year; Colonel Tracy then removed to Massachusetts, and six years later he located in the village of Middleburg, Vermont, where he was married to Miss Sarah M. Crane, daughter of Horace Crane, in March, 1858. Six children have been born to them, four of whom are now living, namely: Horace C, Lena F., Lillian S. and Charles A. Tracy.


Among the long list of distinguished men who claim as their birthplace the Green Mountain state the name of John Winnick Currier holds no insignificant place. The spirit of a sturdy New England race, bred and matured in the healthful, wholesome, bracing atmosphere of Vermont, survives in him, and it has manifested itself strikingly throughout the whole of his interesting and vigorous career. Whether in humble, plodding toil, as little more than a child in a cotton mill, managing the mercantile affairs of a large establishment; serving his country as a volunteer soldier, or conducting extensive and important enterprises, there was always displayed the same resolute determination, guided by intelligence and conservatism. In the upbuilding of his fortune Mr. Currier evinced those solid and substantial qualities w:hich gain not only respect but popularity, and his success has been attained primarily by hard work and endurance, cccom

panied by the capacity of seeing the opportunity and promptly seizing it.

John Winnick Currier was born sixty-seven years ago at North Troy, Vermont, and at the early age of nine years he was endeavoring to eke out the family income by working with his father, John Currier, in the cotton mills at Palmer, Massachusetts. A few years later, an opportunity having been offered for learning the jewelry trade, he applied himself to this, and such adaptability did he display in the business that at the age of nineteen he was appointed manager of a wholesale jewelry store in Boston.

Mr. Currier early manifested a taste for military exercise, and, following his bent in this direction, he enlisted in 1854 in the Springfield City Guards, then a flourishing troop under the command of Colonel Henry S. Briggs. At the outbreak of the Civil war the City Guards were among the first to respond to the call of President Lincoln for troops, and foremost in the ranks of eager and enthusiastic volunteers was John Winnick Currier, then a young man of twenty-five years. He was first assigned to duty at the Springfield, Massachusetts, United States arsenal, from which point he was later mustered in as sergeant in Company F, Tenth Massachusetts Infantry, serving in the Washington navy yard and arsenal. In August, 1802, he was detailed to Massachusetts to assist in recruiting a regiment.

At the close of the war, his personal service in the national cause being no longer required, Mr. Currier devoted himself with his accustomed energy to business pursuits, and with almost unvarying success. Among his strongest emotions, one which clung to him through the vicissitudes of his ripening vears, was a love for his early home, and his cherished ambition was to regain possession of the old family homestead, which had long been in the hands of strangers. Stimulated in this as much perhaps by the picturesque surroundings, the wild and beautiful scenery amidst which it was located, as by the force of early recollections, it was with a feeling of intense gratification that in 1871 he found himself the owner of what had been his boyhood's home. Included in the purchase was about three hundred acres of land, which he at once proceeded to convert

« PreviousContinue »