« PreviousContinue »
men named Richardson left England for Virginia in 1635. Some of these may have settled in New England later, but there is no further information of them obtainable. The record of the families composing the descendants of Ezekiel, Samuel and Thomas Richardson develop to us the fact that energy, uprightness, patriotism and a strong military spirit have been prominent features in the character of the members of these lines. More than five hundred Richardsons, with some variation in the spelling of the name, were in the revolution from Massachusetts and the province of Maine. The later record of the race, both in war and peace, has been equally creditable.
(I) Thomas Richardson, the youngest of the three brothers, Ezekiel, Samuel and Thomas, came with his brother Samuel in 1636 to Charlestown, Massachusetts. The first mention of either of these brothers is dated February 21, 1636, when Mary, wife of Thomas, united with the church in Charlestown. Samuel and Thomas Richardson joined the same church the 18th of the 12th month (February), 1638 (N. S.); in consequence of which they were admitted freemen of the colony, May 2, 1638. Their names are found on the records of Charlestown for the first time in 1637, when to each of them was granted a house-lot, clearly indicating that they had recently become citizens of the place. The same year their names are to be found on the records as citizens of Charlestown. April 20, 1638, Thomas Richardson with his brothers had a lot assigned him on "Misticke Side and above the Ponds," that is, in Malden. Thomas Richardson, his two brothers, and four other men united in the settlement of Woburn, and the formation of a church there in 1641, and the three brothers lived near each other on the same street which, from its having been their residence and that of many of their posterity, has been known from time whereunto the memory of man runneth not to the contrary as "Richardson's Row." Thomas Richardson died in Woburn, August 28, 1651. There is no record of any will. The inventory of his estate, dated September 22, 1651, shows that he died possessed of a dwelling house, a barn, and one hundred acres of land, situated in the town of Woburn, of which twenty-five acres were plowed land and ten of meadow, and that the real estate was valued at eighty pounds. The inventory of his goods amounted to £138 4s. 4d.; and his estate was indebted to the sum of £10 10s. The name of the wife of Thomas Richardson was Mary. She married
(second) October 26, 1655, Michael Bacon, becoming his second wife. She died May 19, 1670. The children of Thomas and Mary Richardson, all but the first two born in Woburn: Mary, Sarah, Isaac, Thomas, Ruth, Phebe and Nathaniel.
(II) Nathaniel, youngest child and third son of Thomas and Mary Richardson, born in Woburn, Massachusetts, January 2, 1651, died intestate December 4, 1714, aged sixty-four. Woburn was always the place of his residence, and there he was made a freeman in 1690. He was a soldier in Captain Prentiss's troop of horse in King Phillip's war, and was one of the eight Woburn men wounded in that tremendous encounter known as the "Great Swamp Fight," which occurred December 19, 1675, in which eighty white men were killed or mortally wounded, and seven hundred Indian warriors were killed, three hundred more afterward dying from wounds or from cold. His wife's name was Mary. She died December 22, 1719. Their children, all born in Woburn, were: Nathaniel, James, Mary, Joshua, Martha, John, Thomas, Hannah, Samuel, Phinehas, Phebe, Amos and Benjamin.
(III) Captain James, second son and child of Nathaniel and Mary Richardson, was born in Woburn, February 26, 1676. He lived in that part of Woburn which is now the town of Winchester, and was a man of good habits and considerable property. He inherited the military spirit of his father, and was employed in warfare with the Indians of Maine. He died in Woburn, March 23, 1722. He married (first) Rebecca Eaton, who died the following year, 1699. Married (second), December 22, 1699, Elizabeth Arnold, of Reading, who died November 3, 1744. The only child by the first wife was William. By the second wife he had children: James (died young), James, Josiah, Elizabeth, Rebecca, Catherine (died young), Catherine, Nathaniel and Mary.
(IV) Janies (2), second son and child of Captain James (1) and Elizabeth (Arnold) Richardson, was bor n in Woburn, March 14, 1704. After living in Woburn some years he removed with his family, about 1735, into the northwest part of Lancaster, which became Leominster by incorporation in 1740. There he began a farm on a piece of new land which he cleared himself. He was surveyor of highways in 1745. According to the best obtainable information he died in 1748. According to another account he fell backward down some cellar stairs, in 1761, and broke his neck. He married, September 24, 1728, Sarah Fowle, born in Woburn, July 29, 1703, daughter of Captain James and Mary (Richardson) Fowle. The children of this union, the first three born in Woburn, the others in Leominster, were: James, William, Sarah, Luke, Esther, John, Josiah and Joseph.
(V) John, third child and second son of James (2) and Sarah (Fowle) Richardson, born in Leominster, July 18, 1741, died there February 13, 1814, in his seventy-third year. After his marriage he settled in Petersham, but moved back to Leominster before 1771, and passed the remainder of his life there. He was a yeoman, a capable man, and like his brothers much occupied with town affairs. He was surveyor of highways, 1777; selectman every year from 1778 to 1789, inclusive, except 1780 and 1781, or ten years in all, and town clerk from 1782 to 1791, both inclusive, ten years. He married, December 12, 1765, Eunice, born November 19, 1743, daughter of Peter and Abigail Green. She died in Leominster, March 2, 1831, aged eighty-seven years. Their eleven children, the first three born in Petersham, the others in Leominster, were: Eunice, Abigail, Francis, John, Green (died young), Susanna, Mary, Martha, Betsey, Green and William.
(VI) John (2), fourth child and second son of John (1) and Eunice (Green) Richardson, born in Leominster, Massachusetts, November 22, 1771, died in Bath, Maine, August 2, 1855, in the eighty-fourth year of his age. He left Leominster a young unmarried man, and went first to Berwick and afterward to Topsham, and finally to Bath, Maine. He was a merchant in Topsham. January 7, 1801, John Richardson, of Topsham, merchant, bought of Joseph West, of Bath, and wife Ann, land and buildings in Bath, as appears in the Lincoln deed record. This probably indicates the date of his removal from Topsham to Bath. In 1803 he bought of William Howard, of Augusta, land in Bath. March 2, 1813, John Richardson, of Bath, merchant, is appointed administrator of the estate of James Rowe, of Bath. He married, in Topsham, May, 1748, Sarah, of Lisbon, Maine, daughter of Reuben and Hannah (Carr) Tibbets. Hannah (Carr) Tibbets, the mother, was born December 9, 1754, daughter of Dr. Moses Carr, of Somersworth, New Hampshire. Children of John and Sarah (Tibbets) Richardson were: Evelina, John Green, Orville, William Carr, Charles, Augustus, Sarah and Betsey C.
(VII) Captain Charles, fifth child and fourth son of John (2) and Sarah (Tibbets)
Richardson, born in Bath, Maine, February
17, 1807, died of paralysis in Portland, Maine, February 9, 1875, aged sixty-eight. He followed the sea many years, and became a successful ship-master. He retired from that occupation and became a member of the wellknown firm of Lyman & Richardson, ship chandlers, of Portland, Maine. Several years before his death he retired from active business, and passed the remainder of his life in pleasant diversions. He was energetic, thoroughly reliable in business, and genial and kind in his disposition. He married, in Portland, August 25, 1840, Mary H., born June 22, 1815, daughter of Thomas and Lucy (Staniford) Warren; he was of Portland, and she of Ipswich. She died in Portland, Maine, July
18, 1882, aged sixty-seven years. Children: Charles Warren, Mary Leontine, Georgiana, Frank Orville, George Henry and Cassius Darling.
(VIII) George Henry, fifth child and third son of Captain Charles and Mary H. (Warren) Richardson, was born in Portland, February 3, 1851. He was educated in the public schools of Portland, which he left at sixteen years of age (1867), and entered the employ of Henry P. Wood, banker and broker. A short time afterward he went to Philadelphia and spent a year in the office of Warren & Gregg, ship brokers, and then returned to Portland. From 1871 to 1878 he was with J. B. Brown & Sons, bankers, and then changed to the employ of Swan & Barratt, private bankers, and shortly afterward became a member of the firm, it being the largest private banking institution in the state. In 1903, at which time he was the senior partner, the firm was merged into the Portland Trust Company, of which he was elected treasurer, serving in that responsible capacity from then to the present time (1908). Mr. Richardson's business career has been noted for integrity, far-sightedness and shrewdness, characteristics which insure success in whatever profession or vocation a man may engage in. He steadily progressed from year to year, advancing from a subordinate position in a counting room to one of the most responsible positions in one of the leading financial institutions, and during his many years of faithful service discharged every duty that devolved upon him in a highly creditable and conscientious manner. With him good works have proved the key of success. In politics he holds aloof from any hard and fast party lines, and reserves to himself the privilege of voting for the principles and men that most deserve his support. He is a member of the Congregational church. He is fond of home, and belongs to but one club, the Cumberland. He married, October 9, 1873, Emeline P., born in Portland, Maine, April 24, 1850, daughter of the Rev. Eaton and Mary (Roberts) Shaw, of Portland. Four children have been born of this marriage: Mary W. and Maud S., July 26, 1874, both of whom died young. Lawrence S., June 28, 1881, died December 31, 1883. Marian Pauline, May 3, 1894.
The ancient family of SySYMONDS monds has for its arms.. Azure, a chevron engrailed between three trefoils slipped, or; motto: Dum vivo spiro. The chevron, which is found only on the arms of the followers of William the Conqueror into Britain, indicates that the family is of noble and very ancient origin. In Lancashire it is traced through twenty generations; six certainly recorded by Richard Symonds, antiquary and poet, who fought at Naseby. Richard of the third generation was an ancestor of the Symonds of Norfolk, England; John, of the eighth, to those of Cambridgeshire. The coat-of-arms of the families of Deputy Governor Samuel Symonds and John Symonds the immigrant are precisely the same.
(I) John Symonds, afterward of Salem, Massachusetts, and Samuel Symonds, afterward of Ipswich, and deputy governor of Massachusetts, appeared together in Boston, in March, 1638, and took the freeman's oath. About 1850 the coat-of-arms, the genealogy, as well as the desk and table brought over by John Symonds, perished by fire at Middleton, but the descendants have always preserved the memory of "three trefoils slipped, or" and have counted themselves of the same stock as the governor. Topsfield, largely owned by him, was named out of deference to his old home in England, and as Middleton was not only to be found wherever a Symonds existed, but was a hamlet near, or in, his old estate of "Ollivers" in Essex, a name transplanted to his farm at Ipswich, it seemed natural when this name of Middleton was given to the township occupied by the descendants of John of Salem, to ask the reason why. The names of Topsfield and Middleton indicate a common origin, but there are other indications of common interest. When John Symonds took the freeman's oath, in March, his wife Elizabeth was pregnant with her youngest child, the only one born in this country, and when that child was born in the following November, either
because it was the name of the head of the family or because of tender regard for the deputy, he called it Samuel. John Symonds brought with him from England, 1637-38, his wife Elizabeth and three children, and died in 1671. His will was proved September 19, of that year. He left apprentices and is called a carpenter, much as Sir Richard Saltonstall is called a miller, but it is claimed that he did not work at the trade. His children were: James, Ruth, Katherine, Samuel, the subject of the next paragraph.
(II) Samuel, youngest child of John and Elizabeth Symonds, born in Salem, Massachusetts, November 4, 1638, died in Boxford, August 14, 1722, in his eighty-fifth year. He bought land from Zaccheus Gould for his homestead in 1662, and lived in what is now Boxford near the Topsfield line, and was there connected with Rowley and Topsfield churches. Samuel Symonds and Captain Baker, the deputy's sons-in-law, held all the first town and church offices, and it is remarkable that the signature of this Samuel Symonds and all his successors is so like that of the deputy that it seems like a tracing. The likeness is evidently international. He married Elizabeth, daughter of Robert Andrew, of Topsfield. She died March 17, 1725, aged eighty-two. Both were probably buried at Topsfield. Their children were: Elizabeth, Hannah, Grace, Mary, Samuel, John, Ruth, Rebecca (died young), Phebe (called Rebecca after her sister's death), Phoebe, Joseph, Nathaniel, and John, next mentioned.
(III) John (2), youngest child of Samuel and Elizabeth (Andrew) Symonds, was born in what is now Boxford, January 6, 1690. He was taxed until 1761 and probably died in that year. He married, February 13, 1708, Hannah, daughter of John Hazen, of Topsfield, and Mary (Bradstreet) Hazen, daughter of John and granddaughter of Governor Simon and Ann (Dudley) Bradstreet. They had children: John (died young), Hannah, Thomas, Jacob, Alice . (died young), Alice, Sarah, Francis, Lydia, Phoebe and John.
(IV) John (3), youngest child of John (2) and Hannah (Hazen) Symonds, born at Boxford, March 11, 1725, died at Danvers of smallpox, June, 1778. His son, John, was administrator of the estate, living at Holden. His inventory amounted to £1,492 12s. 4d., returned August 4, 1778. John Symonds was married (first), March 13, 1746, at Rowley, to Ruth Dorman, of Topsfield, by John Hobson, justice of the peace. Their children were: John, Joanna, Mary and Joseph. Soon