The Flying Emu and Other Australian Stories

Front Cover
Puffin Books, 1997 - Aboriginal Australians - 180 pages
Here are twenty delightful fables about how the world began, and the events - humorous, fantastic or frightening - that followed. The author of My Place brings some wonderful Australian mythical animals and people to life.

What people are saying - Write a review

We haven't found any reviews in the usual places.

About the author (1997)

Sally Morgan was born on January 18, 1951 in Perth, Western Australia. She is of Aboriginal descent from the Bailgu people of the Pilbara region of Western Australia. Her books, My Place, and Wanamurraganya, the story of Jack McPhee, won the Human Rights Literature and Other Writing Award in 1987 and 1989. Her other awards include Order of Australia Book Prize 1990; Fremantle Print Award with Bevan Hone in 1993; Notable Book, Children's Book Council in 1998 and Notable Book, Children's Book Council of Australia in 2012. Her other books include Sally's Story, Mother and Daughter, and Arthur Corinna's Story. Her children's books include Little piggies, The flying emu and other Australian stories, Hurry up, Oscar!, Pet problem, Dan's grandpa, In your dreams, and Just a little brown dog. She won the 2016 Prime Minister's Literary Award for Children's Fiction for her book, Sister Heart.

Bibliographic information