Front Cover
Hodder and Stoughton, 1983 - Aboriginal Australians - 256 pages
Profile of life in the Northern Territory in character sketches and anecdotes with considerable Aboriginal content focusing on world view and cosmology; mentions numerous tribes including Warlpiri, Jankuntjatjara, Gagadju, Pintubi, Pintjantjatjara; alcohol and petrol sniffing; life on missions, settlements and out-stations; (mining royalties, legal aspects land councils); relationship to land mythological associations; Ayers Rock (Uluru) totems; x-ray paintings at Nourlangles Rock, Obiri Rock; Kaditja men; the ngangnkari (Aboriginal physician), Aboriginal health workers and concepts of health and illness; experience of Pintubi man charged with murder with European legal system.

What people are saying - Write a review

We haven't found any reviews in the usual places.

About the author (1983)

Thomas Keneally was born in Sydney, Australia on October 7, 1935. Although he initially studied for the Catholic priesthood, he abandoned that idea in 1960, turning to teaching and clerical work before writing and publishing his first novel, The Place at Whitton, in 1964. Since that time he has been a full-time writer, aside from the occasional stint as a lecturer or writer-in-residence. He won the Booker Prize in 1982 for Schindler's Ark, which Stephen Spielberg adapted into the film Schindler's List. He won the Miles Franklin Award twice with Bring Larks and Heroes and Three Cheers for the Paraclete. His other fiction books include The Chant of Jimmy Blacksmith, Gossip from the Forest, Confederates, The People's Train, Bettany's Book, An Angel in Australia, The Widow and Her Hero, and The Daughters of Mars. His nonfiction works include Searching for Schindler, Three Famines, The Commonwealth of Thieves, The Great Shame, and American Scoundrel. In 1983, he was awarded the order of Australia for his services to Australian Literature. Thomas Keneally is the recipient of the 2015 Australia Council Award for Lifetime Achievement in Literature. The award, formerly known as the Writers' Emeritus Award, recognises 'the achievements of eminent literary writers over the age of 60 who have made an outstanding and lifelong contribution to Australian literature.

Bibliographic information