A Division of the Spoils: A Novel

Front Cover
Heinemann, 1975 - British - 599 pages
A Division of the Spoils is the 1975 novel by Paul Scott. It is the fourth and final book of his Raj Quartet. The novel is set in the British Raj. It follows on from the storyline in The Jewel in the Crown, The Day of the Scorpion, and The Towers of Silence.

What people are saying - Write a review

We haven't found any reviews in the usual places.

Other editions - View all

About the author (1975)

Author Paul Scott was born in England on March 25, 1920. At the age of 16, he left the Winchmore Hill Collegiate School because of financial difficulties and started a career as an accountant. In 1940, he joined the army and was sent to India. After World War II, he worked as an accountant for two small publishing houses and then as a literary agent. In 1952, he published his first novel Johnny Sahib and in 1960, he decided to become a full-time author. He is best-known for his series the Raj Quartet and his novel Staying On won the 1977 Booker Prize. He also wrote reviews and was a visiting professor at the University of Tulsa in Oklahoma. He died on March 1, 1978.

Bibliographic information