The Life of the Past: The Discipline of History at the University of Melbourne, 1855-2005

Front Cover
Fay Anderson, Stuart Macintyre
Department of History, University of Melbourne, 2006 - Electronic books - 432 pages
History has been taught and practised at the University of Melbourne since its foundation. These essays provide a narrative of the work of the History Department together with thematic studies of key aspects. The collection pays particular attention to the staff and students, the evolving curriculum, changing forms of research and writing, and the impact of the Melbourne School of History. UMHM is a series of history monographs flowing from research undertaken by staff, postgraduate students and research associates in the Department of History at the University of Melbourne. This series is directed towards a public with interests in historical study, and includes collections of documents, reflections and historical method, and studies of current issues in a wide range of fields in the discipline.

What people are saying - Write a review

We haven't found any reviews in the usual places.

About the author (2006)

Stuart Forbes Macintyre was born on April 21, 1947 in Melbourne, Australia. He received his bachelor's degree from the University of Melbourne, his Master of Arts from Monash University and his PhD for the University of Cambridge. He is a historian and a former Dean of the Faculty of Arts at the University of Melbourne. His awards include Premier of Victoria's Literary Award for Australian Studies (1986), Fellow of the Academy of the Social Sciences in Australia (1987), Redmond Barry Award (1997), The Age Non-Fiction Book of the Year Award (1998)for his book The Reds, Fellow of the Australian Academy of the Humanities (1999), Premier of New South Wales' Australian History Prize (2004)for the History Wars (co-written with Anna Clark), Officer of the Order of Australia (2011), and the Ernest Scott Prize (2016) for his book Australia's Boldest Experiment: War and Reconstruction in the 1940s, and the Premier New South Wales' Australian History Prize (2016) for Australia's Boldest Experiment.

Bibliographic information