Front Cover
A giant in the pantheon of 19th century composers, Tchaikovsky continues to enthrall audiences today. From the Nutcracker--arguably the most popular ballet currently on the boards--Swan Lake, and Sleeping Beauty, to Eugene Onegin and Pique Dame, to the Symphony Pathetique and the always rousing, canon-blasting 1812 Overture--this prolific and beloved composer's works are perennial favorites. Now, John Wiley, a renowned Tchaikovsky scholar, provides a fresh biography aimed in classic Master Musicians style at the student and music lover. Wiley deftly draws on documents from imperial, Soviet, and post-Soviet era sources, providing a more balanced look at recent controversies surrounding the marriage, death, and sexuality of the composer. The author dovetails the biographical material with separate chapters that treat the music thoroughly and fully, work-by-work, with more substantial explorations of Tchaikovsky's most familiar compositions. These analyses present new, even iconoclastic perspectives on the music and the composer's intent and expression. Several informative appendices, in the Master Musicians format, include an exhaustive list of works and bibliography.

From inside the book

What people are saying - Write a review

Tchaikovsky (Master Musicians Series)

User Review  - Not Available - Book Verdict

In this comprehensive biography, Wiley (music, Univ. of Michigan; Tchaikovsky's Ballets) addresses Tchaikovsky's personal life and compositions in tandem. Drawing on the composer's complete and ... Read full review


Tchaikovskys Early Years
Childhood and Youth in St Petersburg
Civil Service 18591863

12 other sections not shown

Common terms and phrases

About the author (2009)

Roland John Wiley is Professor of Music at the University of Michigan and is the author of Tchaikovsky's Ballets.

Bibliographic information