Our Shadows

Front Cover
Text Publishing Company, Sep 29, 2020 - Fiction - 320 pages

· Our Shadows is a weaving, shifting story of luck and memory; of words left unsaid and the lore and language of family

· Beginning in Ireland’s County Clare, Our Shadows is set in Sydney and Kalgoorlie, following a family whose lives have been shaped by mining over four generations

· Gail Jones is one of Australia’s most celebrated writers of literary fiction

· The Death of Noah Glass won the 2019 Prime Minister’s Literary Award and the 2020 Adelaide Festival Award for literary fiction. In 2019 it was shortlisted for the Miles Franklin Literary Award, the ALS Gold Medal and the Voss Literary Prize, among others

· Interview in major news publication such as the Age, Sydney Morning Herald or Australian; Radio interviews on RN Book Show, ABC local radio and RNZ; review coverage in news and literary publications such as the Australian, Sydney Morning Herald, ABR, Saturday Paper, Guardian and Sydney Review of Books

· Author pitched for in-conversation events in Sydney and Melbourne as well as major writers’ festivals for 2021

· Wide distribution of early reading copies; beautiful in-store posters available to the trade; strong print advertising in popular literary and current affair publications such as the Big Issue, the Monthly and Spectrum; featured in Text's monthly newsletter and giveaway, as well as promoted on social media

What people are saying - Write a review

LibraryThing Review

User Review  - mbmackay - LibraryThing

A book passed on by a reading friend - I knew nothing of the author, or the book, or even of the genre. I think I prefer starting out cold - the recommendation of the book is enough, the details I can ... Read full review

Other editions - View all

About the author (2020)

Gail Jones is one of Australia’s most celebrated writers. She is the author of two short story collections and eight novels, and her work has been translated into several languages. She has received numerous literary awards, including the Prime Minister’s Literary Award, the Age Book of the Year, the South Australian Premier’s Award, the ALS Gold Medal and the Kibble Award, and has been shortlisted for the Miles Franklin Literary Award, the International Dublin Literary Award and the Prix Femina Étranger. Originally from Western Australia, she now lives in Sydney.

Bibliographic information