All Aunt Hagar's Children: Stories

Front Cover
Harper Collins, Aug 29, 2006 - Fiction - 416 pages
3 Reviews

In fourteen sweeping and sublime stories, five of which have been published in The New Yorker, the bestselling and Pulitzer Prize-winning author of The Known World shows that his grasp of the human condition is firmer than ever

Returning to the city that inspired his first prizewinning book, Lost in the City, Jones has filled this new collection with people who call Washington, D.C., home. Yet it is not the city's power brokers that most concern him but rather its ordinary citizens. All Aunt Hagar's Children turns an unflinching eye to the men, women, and children caught between the old ways of the South and the temptations that await them further north, people who in Jones's masterful hands, emerge as fully human and morally complex, whether they are country folk used to getting up with the chickens or people with centuries of education behind them.

In the title story, in which Jones employs the first-person rhythms of a classic detective story, a Korean War veteran investigates the death of a family friend whose sorry destiny seems inextricable from his mother's own violent Southern childhood. In "In the Blink of God's Eye" and "Tapestry" newly married couples leave behind the familiarity of rural life to pursue lives of urban promise only to be challenged and disappointed.

With the legacy of slavery just a stone's throw away and the future uncertain, Jones's cornucopia of characters will haunt readers for years to come.


What people are saying - Write a review


User Review  - Jane Doe - Kirkus

The punishing legacy of poverty, crime and racism spans several generations, in the Hemingway Award- and Pulitzer Prize-winning author's long-awaited second collection.Wielding with enviable precision ... Read full review

LibraryThing Review

User Review  - haidadareads - LibraryThing

I purchased this book at a United Way Bookfair [Feb '07 Black History Month]. I had not read any of Edward P. Jones work and decided that this book had to be a great read because the author was a ... Read full review


In the Blink of Gods
Spanish in the Morning
Resurrecting Methuselah
Old Boys Old Girls
A Poor Guatemalan Dreams
Root Worker
Adam Robinson Acquires Grandparents
The Devil Swims Across
A Rich
Bad Neighbors

Other editions - View all

Common terms and phrases

About the author (2006)

Edward P. Jones, the New York Times bestselling author, has been awarded the Pulitzer Prize, for fiction, the National Book Critics Circle award, the International IMPAC Dublin Literary Award, and the Lannan Literary Award for The Known World; he also received a MacArthur Fellowship in 2004. His first collection of stories, Lost in the City, won the PEN/Hemingway Award and was short listed for the National Book Award. His second collection, All Aunt Hagar’s Children, was a finalist for the Pen/Faulkner Award. He has been an instructor of fiction writing at a range of universities, including Princeton. He lives in Washington, D.C.

Bibliographic information