Breathe

Front Cover
HarperCollins, Oct 2, 2012 - Juvenile Fiction - 384 pages
22 Reviews

The world has no air. If you want to survive, you pay to breathe. But what if you can't? And what if you think everything could be different? Three teens will leave everything they know behind in Sarah Crossan's gripping and original dystopian teen novel of danger, longing, and glimmering hope that will appeal to fans of Patrick Ness and Veronica Roth.

National Book Award Finalist Kathleen Duey called Breathe "An amazing story! Sit down. Inhale. Now, while you still can." Ever since the Switch, when the oxygen levels plummeted and most of humanity died, the survivors have been protected in glass domes full of manufactured air. Protected . . . or trapped? Or controlled? Alina's a revolutionary who believes we can save the environment. Quinn's a Premium who's never had to worry about having enough air. His best friend, Bea, is an Auxiliary who's never worried about anything but having enough air. When the three cross paths, they will change everything. Sarah Crossan's thrilling and provocative novel is about passion, about yearning for something better, and about breaking free for the very first time. The Bulletin of the Center for Children's Books proclaims it an "action-packed dystopian series opener to watch out for."

What people are saying - Write a review

User ratings

5 stars
5
4 stars
9
3 stars
5
2 stars
3
1 star
0

LibraryThing Review

User Review  - BookSpot - LibraryThing

Simply breathing is no longer something to be taken for granted. Since the Switch, after the world as we currently know it had deteriorated so far that it was no longer sustainable, the remaining ... Read full review

LibraryThing Review

User Review  - aurora.schnarr - LibraryThing

Goodreads Synopsis: The world has no air. If you want to survive, you pay to breathe. But what if you can't? And what if you think everything could be different? Three teens will leave everything they ... Read full review

Other editions - View all

About the author (2012)

Sarah Crossan first had the idea for Breathe when traveling in Washington State. Seeing the logging, she thought, "Don't people understand that we need trees to breathe?" And so began a book about how awful life would be if access to one of our most basic needs—air—were restricted.

Before becoming a full-time writer, Sarah Crossan taught high school English and creative writing. She lives in New Jersey.

Bibliographic information