Nothing Gold Can Stay: Stories

Front Cover
HarperCollins, Feb 19, 2013 - Fiction - 256 pages
5 Reviews

From Ron Rash, PEN / Faulkner Award finalist and New York Times bestselling author of Serena, comes a new collection of unforgettable stories set in Appalachia that focuses on the lives of those haunted by violence and tenderness, hope and fear—spanning the Civil War to the present day. 

The darkness of Ron Rash’s work contrasts with its unexpected sensitivity and stark beauty in a manner that could only be accomplished by this master of the short story form.

Nothing Gold Can Stay includes 14 stories, including Rash’s “The Trusty,” which first appeared in The New Yorker.

What people are saying - Write a review

User ratings

5 stars
4 stars
3 stars
2 stars
1 star

LibraryThing Review

User Review  - dickmanikowski - LibraryThing

Frankly, I had never heard of Ron Rash until hearing an NPR interview a few weeks ago. His fiction, apparently largely centered on the hardscrabble life of the people of Appalachia, sounded ... Read full review

LibraryThing Review

User Review  - maritimer - LibraryThing

By and large these stories fit the "going from bad to worse" pattern, with something awful having just happened, or just about to. Many have that eye-rolling, freighted moment when you want to look ... Read full review

Other editions - View all

About the author (2013)

Ron Rash is the author of the 2009 PEN/Faulkner finalist and New York Times bestselling novel Serena, in addition to three other prizewinning novels, One Foot in Eden, Saints at the River, and The World Made Straight; four collections of poems; and four collections of stories, among them Burning Bright, which won the 2010 Frank O'Connor International Short Story Award, and Chemistry and Other Stories, which was a finalist for the 2007 PEN/Faulkner Award. Twice the recipient of the O. Henry Prize, he teaches at Western Carolina University.

Bibliographic information