Agatha Raisin and the Wellspring of Death

Front Cover
St. Martin's Press, 1998 - Fiction - 184 pages
6 Reviews
"Beaton has a winner in the irrepressible, romance-hungry Agatha", raves the Chicago Sun Times, and the curmudgeonly Cotswold sleuth's growing legion of fans agree

In her seventh outing, Agatha Raisin, Beaton's "refreshingly sensible, wonderfully eccentric, thoroughly likeable heroine" (Booklist) finds a dead body near the natural spring in a Cotswold village. The endearingly brassy amateur detective soon finds herself at the center of a heated battle over the spring, in which everyone -- including local politicians, animal rights activists, shady entrepreneurs, and even her elusive ex-fiance, James -- seems to have an opinion. With the bodies stacking up, Agatha must protect both the spring and her own life. Once again M.C. Beaton proves that "no one does the English cozy better" (Romantic Times).

What people are saying - Write a review

User ratings

5 stars
4 stars
3 stars
2 stars
1 star

LibraryThing Review

User Review  - Cassandra2020 - LibraryThing

Yet another break from The Almost Moon and yet another Agatha Raisin. There's really not much I can add to previous reviews of the series - they are all pretty similar. Agatha is still moping over ... Read full review

LibraryThing Review

User Review  - lovejoy_rat - LibraryThing

I love Agatha Raisin, and she's back to her old tricks in this outing. Still on the outs with James Lacey after their disastrous trip abroad, James and Agatha are on something of the opposite sides of ... Read full review

Other editions - View all

About the author (1998)

M. C. Beaton's real name is Marion Chesney. She was born in Glasgow, Scotland, in 1936. She has written over a hundred books under her own name and other pseudonyms: Ann Fairfax, Helen Crampton, Jennie Tremaine, Charlotte Ward, and Sarah Chester. She started her writing career while working as a fiction buyer for a bookstore in Glasgow. Working at one time or another as a theater critic, newspaper reporter, and editor, she used her British background to write a series of regency romances set in England and Scotland. Some of her regency romances include The Folly, Colonel Sandhurst to the Rescue, and Regency Gold. In 1986, she was awarded the Romantic Times Award for Outstanding Regency Series Writer. She has also written two mystery series under the pseudonym M. C. Beaton: The Hamish Macbeth Series, which became the inspiration for a television show in England, and The Agatha Raisin Series, about a retired advertising executive. Her title His and Hers made The New York Times Best Seller List for 2012.

Bibliographic information