Front Cover
St. Martin's Press, 1990 - Fiction - 309 pages
9 Reviews
For the first time in paperback, here is Card's classic masterpiece, A PlanetCalled Treason, totally revised. Treason is a planet torn by warring factionsand imprisoned by a superior alien race. But now, the seeds of revolution arebeing sown. Martin's.

What people are saying - Write a review

User ratings

5 stars
4 stars
3 stars
2 stars
1 star

LibraryThing Review

User Review  - Hegemellman - LibraryThing

I'm not going to say this book doesn't have problems, but in spite of any problems it has, it is FUN. Lots and lots of fun. I wholeheartedly recommend this book. Read full review


User Review  - Jane Doe - Kirkus

A rewrite and expansion of Card's early novel A Planet Called Treason (1979), about the descendants of gifted exiles struggling to escape the planet on which they have been confined. Many generations ... Read full review

Other editions - View all

About the author (1990)

Orson Scott Byron Walley Card, was born in 1951 and studied theater at Brigham Young University. He received his B.A. in 1975 and his M.A. in English in 1981. He wrote plays during that time, including Stone Tables (1973) and the musical, Father, Mother, Mother and Mom (1974). A Mormon, Scott served a two-year mission in Brazil before starting work as a journalist in Utah. He also designed games at Lucas Film Games, 1989-92. He is best known for his science fiction novels, including the popular Ender series. Well known titles include A Planet Called Treason (1979), Treasure Box (1996), and Heartfire (1998). He has also written the guide called How to Write Science Fiction and Fantasy (1990). His novel Ender's Game and its sequel Speaker for the Dead, both won Hugo and Nebula awards, making Card the only author to win both prizes in consecutive years. His titles Shadows in Flight, Ruins and Ender's Game made The New York Times Best Seller List. He is also the author of The First Formic War Series, which includes the titles Earth Unaware, Earth Afire, and Earth Awakens.

Bibliographic information