The Lady of Secrets

Front Cover
Ballantine Books Trade Paperbacks, 2012 - Fiction - 430 pages
17 Reviews
This brilliant new installment in bestselling author Susan Carroll’s mesmerizing Dark Queen historical fiction series is perfect for fans of Philippa Gregory.
 
Queen Catherine de Medici is dead, and for Meg Wolfe—successor in a line of legendary healers and mystics known as “daughters of the earth”—it is a time of new beginnings. She strives to be ordinary, invisible in the mists of Faire Isle, and is determined to put the terrifying days of a wicked mother and turbulent childhood behind her. But soon a summons from King James will rekindle a menacing power from the past, bringing haunting visions of a nightmare already unfolding—and a shattering mystery steeped in magic that will determine a destiny from which she cannot hide.
 
Meg’s task: Save the king from the most insidious form of treachery, invisible to those who do not possess Meg’s extraordinary gifts. But as Meg discovers, there are more sinister motivations at play in the king’s world. Torn between two very different men whose motives and secrets are tied inexorably to her own fate, Meg learns that she can no longer trust anyone or anything—not even her own heart.
 
Praise for Susan Carroll’sTwilight of a Queen
 
“[Susan] Carroll’s vivid portrayal of Catherine de Medici is mesmerizing, but the evil queen does not overshadow either the romance or the strong characterization and plot that are Carroll’s hallmarks.”—RT Book Reviews
 
“Fascinating . . . full of twists and turns and a lot of intriguing historical detail.”—Night Owl Reviews
 

What people are saying - Write a review

User ratings

5 stars
3
4 stars
7
3 stars
5
2 stars
2
1 star
0

Review: The Lady of Secrets (The Dark Queen Saga #6)

User Review  - Ambrosia Sullivan - Goodreads

This was first posted on Fire & Ice I have long loved reading the stories in the Dark Queen Saga that Susan Carroll has created. The story that delves deeper into the story of Meg the new Lady of the ... Read full review

Review: The Lady of Secrets (The Dark Queen Saga #6)

User Review  - Cindy - Goodreads

Perhaps this is the end of these books but if not I will happily indulge in more. As I said before a bit formulaic but great distraction from the winter blues Read full review

All 4 reviews »

Selected pages

Contents

Section 1
1
Section 2
24
Section 3
48
Section 4
58
Section 5
64
Section 6
79
Section 7
102
Section 8
116
Section 14
240
Section 15
254
Section 16
268
Section 17
286
Section 18
303
Section 19
316
Section 20
329
Section 21
347

Section 9
136
Section 10
155
Section 11
182
Section 12
204
Section 13
221
Section 22
357
Section 23
376
Section 24
408
Section 25
426
Copyright

Common terms and phrases

About the author (2012)

Susan Carroll is an award-winning romance author whose books include The Bride Finder and its two sequels The Night Drifter and Midnight Bride as well as The Painted Veil, Winterbourne, and most recently, The Dark Queen, The Courtesan, The Silver Rose, The Huntress, and Twilight of a Queen. She lives in Rock Island, Illinois.

Bibliographic information