The Boleyn King: A Novel

Front Cover
Ballantine Books Trade Paperbacks, 2013 - Fiction - 358 pages
29 Reviews
NAMED ONE OF THE BEST BOOKS OF THE YEAR BY RT BOOK REVIEWS

Perfect for fans of Philippa Gregory, Alison Weir, and Showtime's The Tudors, The Boleyn King is the first book in an enthralling trilogy that dares to imagine: What if Anne Boleyn had actually given Henry VIII a son who grew up to be king?


Just seventeen years old, Henry IX, known as William, is a king bound by the restraints of the regency yet anxious to prove himself. With the French threatening battle and the Catholics sowing the seeds of rebellion at home, William trusts only three people: his older sister Elizabeth; his best friend and loyal counselor, Dominic; and Minuette, a young orphan raised as a royal ward by William's mother, Anne Boleyn.

Against a tide of secrets, betrayal, and murder, William finds himself fighting for the very soul of his kingdom. Then, when he and Dominic both fall in love with Minuette, romantic obsession looms over a new generation of Tudors. One among them will pay the price for a king's desire, as a shocking twist of fate changes England's fortunes forever.

Includes a preview of Laura Andersen's The Boleyn Deceit

Praise for The Boleyn King

“Imaginative . . . Andersen focuses on creating an exciting, action-driven plot containing strong doses of both intrigue and romance. Tudor-era historical fiction fans who are willing to accept the unusual premise will be rewarded with an original and entertaining read that's reminiscent of the best of Philippa Gregory.”Library Journal (starred review)

“Gripping . . . Andersen delves into an alternative Tudor England geared to rivet period fans and newcomers alike. . . . Perfect for Philippa Gregory fans.”Booklist (starred review)

“A surprising gem and a thoroughly enjoyable read.”Historical Novels Review

“Andersen's novel, alive with historical flair and drama, satisfies both curious and imaginative Tudor aficionados. . . . Her multidimensional characters are so real that readers will wish it was history and eagerly await the next in the trilogy.”RT Book Reviews (Top Pick)

“A wonderfully imaginative and well-written tale of intrigue, high court politics and desperate love.”Deseret News

'What if . . .' With these tantalizing words, Laura Andersen creates a fresh and vividly realized alternative world where Anne Boleyn not only lives, but also gives birth to a healthy son who will become King. With the introduction of Minuette, Princess Elizabeth's lady-in-waiting, we meet an extraordinary young woman who embodies love and loyalty, and who fights to find the humanity at the heart of the most glamorous—and dangerous—court in Europe.”—Susan Elia MacNeal, author of Mr. Churchill's Secretary

“Full of intrigue, conspiracies, and the accurate details so essential to good historical fiction . . . Anyone who has even the slightest fascination with the Tudors will want to devour this delectable novel in a single sitting.”—Tasha Alexander, New York Times bestselling author of Death in the Floating City

Look for special features inside. Join the Random House Reader's Circle for author chats and more.
 

What people are saying - Write a review

User ratings

5 stars
8
4 stars
15
3 stars
3
2 stars
2
1 star
0

LibraryThing Review

User Review  - DisneyDiva86 - LibraryThing

*ARC obtained from NetGalley* This was a really brilliant read. I loved it. I am a Tudor buff and I am quite open to reading AU stories and such. I always felt that Anne Boleyn's life was cut short ... Read full review

LibraryThing Review

User Review  - sandra.k.heinzman - LibraryThing

I really liked my first alternate history book - Anne Boleyn did not miscarry a son after Elizabeth. He lived, William was his name, and he became Henry IX after his father died. Henry VIII never had ... Read full review

All 29 reviews »

Selected pages

Contents

Section 1
7
Section 2
22
Section 3
34
Section 4
47
Section 5
73
Section 6
92
Section 7
103
Section 8
125
Section 13
225
Section 14
239
Section 15
252
Section 16
265
Section 17
278
Section 18
287
Section 19
305
Section 20
333

Section 9
144
Section 10
167
Section 11
182
Section 12
213
Section 21
337
Section 22
344
Copyright

Other editions - View all

Common terms and phrases

About the author (2013)

Laura Andersen is married with four children, and possesses a constant sense of having forgotten something important. She has a BA in English (with an emphasis in British history), which she puts to use by reading everything she can lay her hands on.

Bibliographic information