His Majesty's Hope

Front Cover
Bantam Books Trade Paperbacks, 2013 - Fiction - 354 pages
28 Reviews
NEW YORK TIMES BESTSELLER

For fans of Jacqueline Winspear, Laurie R. King, and Anne Perry, whip-smart heroine Maggie Hope returns to embark on a clandestine mission behind enemy lines where no one can be trusted, and even the smallest indiscretion can be deadly.

World War II has finally come home to Britain, but it takes more than nightly air raids to rattle intrepid spy and expert code breaker Maggie Hope. After serving as a secret agent to protect Princess Elizabeth at Windsor Castle, Maggie is now an elite member of the Special Operations Executive—a black ops organization designed to aid the British effort abroad—and her first assignment sends her straight into Nazi-controlled Berlin, the very heart of the German war machine. Relying on her quick wit and keen instincts, Maggie infiltrates the highest level of Berlin society, gathering information to pass on to London headquarters. But the secrets she unveils will expose a darker, more dangerous side of the war—and of her own past.

“You'll be [Maggie Hope's] loyal subject, ready to follow her wherever she goes.”—O: The Oprah Magazine
 

What people are saying - Write a review

User ratings

5 stars
6
4 stars
17
3 stars
4
2 stars
1
1 star
0

LibraryThing Review

User Review  - Romonko - LibraryThing

If it wasn't for the ending of this book I think this book deserved a 5, but the ending seemed rushed and off track to me. I was disappointed with the way the unflappable Maggie reacted to the ... Read full review

LibraryThing Review

User Review  - crazeedi73 - LibraryThing

Each book gets better and better. Looking forward to reading number 4. If you want a book you can read in a day and enjoy, this series is it Read full review

Selected pages

Contents

Section 1
3
Section 2
7
Section 3
22
Section 4
35
Section 5
48
Section 6
65
Section 7
85
Section 8
103
Section 17
233
Section 18
247
Section 19
258
Section 20
263
Section 21
268
Section 22
277
Section 23
289
Section 24
298

Section 9
113
Section 10
129
Section 11
145
Section 12
165
Section 13
183
Section 14
200
Section 15
215
Section 16
225
Section 25
302
Section 26
308
Section 27
316
Section 28
323
Section 29
333
Section 30
337
Copyright

Other editions - View all

Common terms and phrases

About the author (2013)

Susan Elia MacNeal is the Barry Award-winning and Edgar, Dilys, and Macavity Award-nominated author of the Maggie Hope mysteries, including Mr. Churchill's Secretary, Princess Elizabeth's Spy, His Majesty's Hope, and The Prime Minister's Secret Agent. She lives in Park Slope, Brooklyn, with her husband and child.

Bibliographic information