Hidden

Front Cover
Macmillan, May 10, 2011 - Juvenile Fiction - 147 pages
14 Reviews

When Wren Abbott and Darra Monson are eight years old, Darra's father steals a minivan. He doesn't know that Wren is hiding in the back. The hours and days that follow change the lives of both girls. Darra is left with a question that only Wren can answer. Wren has questions, too.

Years later, in a chance encounter at camp, the girls face each other for the first time. They can finally learn the truth—that is, if they're willing to reveal to each other the stories that they've hidden for so long. Told from alternating viewpoints, this novel-in-poems reveals the complexities of memory and the strength of a friendship that can overcome pain.

 

What people are saying - Write a review

User ratings

5 stars
7
4 stars
4
3 stars
2
2 stars
1
1 star
0

LibraryThing Review

User Review  - mrsoliva - LibraryThing

Fans of Peg Kehret's Stolen Children and Runaway Twin will certainly want to read this unique book. Author Helen Frost alternates between her two main characters Wren Abbott and Darra Monson to tell ... Read full review

LibraryThing Review

User Review  - TFS93 - LibraryThing

I wasn't sure that I would enjoy a novel in verse. Surprisingly, I liked the story, and the verse format did not detract from that. I thought the author did a good job of showing the feelings of the ... Read full review

Other editions - View all

Common terms and phrases

About the author (2011)

Helen Frost is the author of several books for young people, including Diamond Willow, Crossing Stones, The Braid, and Keesha's House, selected an Honor Book for the Michael L. Printz Award. Helen Frost was born in Brookings, South Dakota, the fifth of ten children. She recalls the summer her family moved from South Dakota to Oregon, traveling in a big trailer and camping in places like the Badlands and Yellowstone. Her father told the family stories before they went to sleep, and Helen would dream about their travels, her family, and their old house. "That's how I became a writer," she says. "I didn't know it at the time, but all those things were accumulating somewhere inside me."

As a child, she loved to travel, think, swim, sing, learn, canoe, write, argue, sew, play the piano, play softball, play with dolls, daydream, read, go fishing, and climb trees. Now, when she sits down to write, her own experiences become the details of her stories. Helen has lived in South Dakota, Oregon, Massachusetts, New York, Vermont, Scotland, Colorado, Alaska, California, and Indiana. She currently lives in Fort Wayne, Indiana, with her family.