The Lambs of London: A Novel

Front Cover
Nan A. Talese, 2004 - Fiction - 213 pages
55 Reviews

A tour de force in the tradition of "Hawksmoor" and "Chatterton," Peter Ackroyd's new novel of deceit and betrayal is a witty reimagining of a great nineteenth-century Shakespeare forgery.
Charles and Mary Lamb, who will achieve lasting fame as the authors of "Tales from Shakespeare" for children, are still living at their parents' home. Charles, an aspiring writer bored stiff by his job as a clerk at the East India Company, enjoys a drink or three too many each night at the local pub. His sister, Mary, is trapped in domesticity, caring for her ailing, dotty father and her maddening mother. The siblings' enchantment with Shakespeare provides a much-needed escape, and they delight in reading and quoting the great bard. When William Ireland, an ambitious young antiquarian bookseller, comes into their lives claiming to possess a "lost" Shakespearean play, the Lambs can barely contain their excitement. As word of the amazing find spreads, scholars and actors alike beat a path to Ireland's door, and soon all of London is eagerly anticipating opening night of a star-studded production of the play.
The perfect, lighthearted follow-up to Ackroyd's magnificent biography of Shakespeare, "The Lambs of London" transforms the real-life literary hoax into an ingenious, intriguing drama that will keep readers guessing right to the end.

From inside the book

What people are saying - Write a review

User ratings

5 stars
4 stars
3 stars
2 stars
1 star

Review: The Lambs of London

User Review  - Goodreads

I'd rather give this one 2.5 stars. This is a fictionalized account of a true story in the lives of Charles and Mary Lamb, a brother and sister who bonded through literature, and William Ireland, a ... Read full review

Review: The Lambs of London

User Review  - Goodreads

Riveting, complex and super well-written, "The Lambs of London" is yet another fully submersive foray into a previous age from Ackroyd, whose magnum opus I feel to be "Hawksmoor." Here, we deal not ... Read full review

All 4 reviews »


Section 1
Section 2
Section 3

11 other sections not shown

Other editions - View all

Common terms and phrases

About the author (2004)

Peter Ackroyd has won many prizes for his fiction including the Somerset Maugham Award and the Guardian Fiction Prize. He is the author of biographies of Dickens, Blake and Thomas More and of the bestselling London: The Biography and Illustrated London, as well as Albion.

From the Trade Paperback edition.

Bibliographic information