The Cat who Dropped a Bombshell, Book 31

Front Cover
G.P. Putnam's Sons, 2006 - Fiction - 191 pages
1 Review
The residents of Pickax eagerly await the start of Pickax Now, a festival celebrating the 150th anniversary of the town's founding. In the midst of preparations fro parades and performances, newspaper columnist James Qwilleran must make time to entertain Harvey Ledfield, an aspiring architect visiting from out of town. Qwill welcomes Harvey into his home to sketch, but strange occurrences seem to follow Harvey around. Why, for example, did the extraordinary Siamese Koko leap from the balcony onto Harvey's head while he was drawing Qwill's barn? And why have Harvey's aunt and uncle-residents of nearby Purple Point-not been seen in public since Harvey's arrival? Soon, KoKo's stange behavior is not the only sign of trouble in Pickax. A knitter with psychic powers predicts murder, and a woman makes a weekend trip to Pickax from California to leave a message for Qwill. It's up to Koko to help Qwill piece the clues together. In the twenty-eight Cat Who mystery, Lilian Jackson Braun welcomes readers back into the world of Qwill, Koko, and Yum Yum.

What people are saying - Write a review


User Review  - Jane Doe - Kirkus

Sesquicentennial fever sweeps Pickax City.As head of the K Foundation, fabulously wealthy Jim "Qwill" Qwilleran is often involved in Moose County activities. He's just made the move from his in-town ... Read full review

The Cat Who Dropped a Bombshell

User Review  - 3c0d -

If you are a Yum Yum and Koko fan you will enjoy this latest book by Lillian Jackson Braun. Pickax tries to celebrate its sesquicentennial without mishap or murder. Cool Koko knows better. Read full review

Other editions - View all

About the author (2006)

Lilian Jackson Braun was born on June 20, 1913. After starting out as a copywriter for Detroit department stores, she worked for The Detroit Free Press for nearly 30 years. In the 1960s, her cat died in a fall from a 10th-floor window in Detroit. Neighbors later told her that someone pushed the cat. To work through her feelings, she wrote a short story based on the incident. The result was her first three novels, The Cat Who Could Read Backwards, The Cat Who Ate Danish Modern, and The Cat Who Turned On and Off. After an 18-year break, she published The Cat Who Saw Red. During her lifetime, she wrote 29 titles in The Cat Who... series. She died on June 4, 2011 of chronic obstructive pulmonary disease at the age of 97.

Bibliographic information