The Last Dark

Front Cover
G.P. Putnam's Sons, 2013 - Fiction - 557 pages
23 Reviews
“It will take a long time for fans or critics to digest and appreciate Donaldson's almost 40-year achievement. But in time “T he Chronicles of Thomas Covenant” will be seen as one of the self-defining works of the third millennium, our equivalent in scope and ambition of earlier epics and fantasies, from Virgil's “Aeneid” to Tennyson's “Arthurian Idylls” and Tolkien's “Lord of the Rings,” the last now a lifetime (Donaldson's own) in the past.” -The Wall Street Journal

Compelled step by step to actions whose consequences they could neither see nor prevent, Thomas Covenant and Linden Avery have fought for what they love in the magical reality known only as "the Land." Now they face their final crisis. Reunited after their separate struggles, they discover in each other their true power--and yet they cannot imagine how to stop the Worm of the World’s End from unmaking Time. Nevertheless they must resist the ruin of all things, giving their last strength in the service of the world's continuance.

What people are saying - Write a review

User ratings

5 stars
4 stars
3 stars
2 stars
1 star

LibraryThing Review

User Review  - Al-G - LibraryThing

While this book is an entirely fitting conclusion to entire Thomas Covenant series (10 books in all) and to the final series of four books, this one doesn't have the punch that many of the earlier ... Read full review

LibraryThing Review

User Review  - orkydd - LibraryThing

The New Year starts with the conclusion of a long running saga. Stephen Donaldson wrote the first Thomas Covenant books more than 35 years ago with the initial trilogy, and returned his anti-hero ... Read full review


At Last
Shamed Choices
Parting Company
1o All Lost Women
Of My Deeper Purpose
You Are Mine
The soul in which

Other editions - View all

Common terms and phrases

About the author (2013)

Stephen R. Donaldson is the author of the six volumes of The Chronicles of Thomas Covenant, a landmark in modern fantasy. Every volume, beginning with Lord Foul's Bane in 1977, has been an international bestseller. Donaldson returned to the series with The Runes of the Earth in 2004. He lives in New Mexico.

Bibliographic information