The Forsaken

Front Cover
Penguin Group USA, Jul 24, 2014 - Fiction - 384 pages
34 Reviews
The extraordinary new novel in New York Times-bestselling author Ace Atkins' acclaimed series about the real Deep South—“a joy ride into the heart of darkness” (The Washington Post).
Thirty-six years ago, a nameless black man wandered into Jericho, Mississippi, with nothing but the clothes on his back and a pair of paratrooper boots. Less than two days later, he was accused of rape and murder, hunted down by a self-appointed posse, and lynched.

Now evidence has surfaced of his innocence, and county sheriff Quinn Colson sets out not only to identify the stranger’s remains, but to charge those responsible for the lynching. As he starts to uncover old lies and dirty secrets, though, he runs up against fierce opposition from those with the most to lose—and they can play dirty themselves.

Soon Colson will find himself accused of terrible crimes, and the worst part is, the accusations just might stick. As the two investigations come to a head, it is anybody’s guess who will prevail—or even come out of it alive.

What people are saying - Write a review

User ratings

5 stars
4 stars
3 stars
2 stars
1 star

Review: The Forsaken (Quinn Colson #4)

User Review  - Joyce - Goodreads

Years ago a young girl was raped and another murdered. A black man was hung by a mob for these offenses. This crime is being investigated for the first time today. There is an amazing cast of ... Read full review

Review: The Forsaken (Quinn Colson #4)

User Review  - Tom V - Goodreads

Ace Atkins' Quinn Colson is back, with extended family in tow, trying to make sense of a near forty year old unsolved crime. Or was it a crime...there don't seem to be any reports of a crime to solve ... Read full review

About the author (2014)

Ace Atkins is the author of fifteen books, including three Quinn Colson novels, the first two of which?The Ranger and The Lost Ones?were both nominated for the Edgar Award for Best Novel. He is also the author of three New York Times-bestselling novels in the continuation of Robert B. Parker's Spenser series. He lives in Oxford, Mississippi.

Bibliographic information