Lavender Lies: A China Bayles Mystery

Front Cover
Berkley Prime Crime, 1999 - Fiction - 306 pages
53 Reviews
"Good riddance" is the response of every Pecan Springs resident to the murder of Edgar Coleman, a local real estate shark found shot to death in his garage. With the small-town gossip mill running full tilt, it doesn't take long for China to learn that Coleman was having numerous affairs and was blackmailing City Council members for their votes on a bad land development deal.
With her fiance, interim police chief Mike McQuaid, immersed in the murder investigation - and the suspect list growing longer by the minute - China can forget about a honeymoon, unless she can find the killer. As China investigates, she starts digging up dirt on people she knows - and unearthing secrets best left six feet under...

From inside the book

What people are saying - Write a review

User ratings

5 stars
4 stars
3 stars
2 stars
1 star

Review: Lavender Lies (China Bayles #8)

User Review  - Bernie - Goodreads

I am never disappointed by a book from Susan Wittig Albert. This is one I found in my local library, one I hadn't read before. Needless to say, the goings-on between China and McQuaid and her friends. In addition, look for a beguiling sub-plot. Susan, you just keep on getting BETTER and BETTER. Read full review

Review: Lavender Lies (China Bayles #8)

User Review  - Ellen Moore - Goodreads

I liked this book in the China Bayles series. In addition to investigating a local murder to help her soon to be husband wrap up his work before their imminent wedding and honeymoon, China was very ... Read full review


Section 1
Section 2
Section 3

16 other sections not shown

Other editions - View all

Common terms and phrases

About the author (1999)

Susan Wittig Albert grew up on a farm in Illinois and earned her Ph.D. at the University of California at Berkeley. A former professor of English and a university administrator and vice president, she is the New York Times bestselling author of the China Bayles Mysteries, the Darling Dahlias Mysteries, and the Cottage Tales of Beatrix Potter. Some of her recent titles include Bittersweet, Widow’s Tears, Cat’s Claw, The Darling Dahlias and the Texas Star, and The Tale of Castle Cottage. She and her husband, Bill, coauthor a series of Victorian-Edwardian mysteries under the name Robin Paige, which includes such titles as Death at Glamis Castle and Death at Whitechapel.

Bibliographic information