Front Cover
Warner Books, 1990 - Fiction - 367 pages
10 Reviews
It is an age of pain an dwonder; on Earth, struggling from the ravages of nuclear war;on Thistledown, the amazing asteriod-starship from the far future; and in the Way, the infinite corridor that slices across universes both human and inhuman. But now an impossible visitor from the end of Time comes to take a handful of voyagers into space-time, where they must destroy the ultimate marvel of science. For the existence of the Way threatens to abort the ultimate goal-and purpose-of all creation...

What people are saying - Write a review

User ratings

5 stars
4 stars
3 stars
2 stars
1 star

LibraryThing Review

User Review  - Bruce_McNair - LibraryThing

This book is the sequel to Eon. It tells the continuing stories of some of the key characters from the earlier book. There are two parallel stories. Firstly, that of the people on the asteroid world ... Read full review

LibraryThing Review

User Review  - RobertDay - LibraryThing

At the end of 'Eon', the Way, the artificial universe in the form of an infinite tunnel was separated from Thistledown, the asteroid/starship that served as the Way's anchor in our universe. Some ... Read full review

Other editions - View all

About the author (1990)

Greg Bear was born in San Diego, California, on August 20, 1951. He received a Bachelor of Arts degree from San Diego State University in 1973. At age 14, he began submitting pieces to magazines and at 15 he sold his first story to Robert Lowndes' Famous Science Fiction. It would be five years before he sold another piece, but by 23 he was selling stories regularly. He has written more than 30 science fiction and fantasy books and has won numerous awards for his work. In 1984, Hardfought and Blood Music won the Nebula Awards for best novella and novelette; Blood Music went on to win the Hugo Award. The novel version of that story, also called Blood Music, won the Prix Apollo in France. In 1987, Tangents won the Hugo and Nebula awards for best short story. He also won a Nebula in 1994 for Moving Mars and in 2001 for Darwin's Radio. Both Dinosaur Summer and Darwin's Radio have been awarded the Endeavour for best novel published by a Northwest science fiction author. He is also an illustrator and his work has appeared in Galaxy, Fantasy and Science Fiction, and Vertex, and in both hardcover and paperback books. He was a founding member of ASFA, the Association of Science Fiction Artists. His works include City at the End of Time, Hull Zero Three, The Mongoliad, Mariposa, Halo: Cryptum, Halo: Primordium and Halo: Silentium.

Bibliographic information