The Accidental Duchess

Front Cover
Berkley Publishing Group, 2014 - Fiction - 389 pages
16 Reviews
From New York Times bestselling author Madeline Hunter comes this seductive tale of a headstrong young lady, a scandalous manuscript, and the iron-willed duke determined to save her from her ruin. For fans of Mary Balogh, Eloisa James, and Julia Quinn.
When Lady Lydia Alfreton is blackmailed over the shocking contents of a manuscript she once wrote, she must go to the most desperate of measures to raise the money to buy back the ill-considered prose: agreeing to an old wager posed by the arrogant, dangerous Duke of Penthurst. At least Penthurst is a man she wouldn't mind fleecing?and she's confident she'll win.
Penthurst long ago concluded Lydia was a woman in search of ruinous adventure, but even he is surprised when she arrives at his house ready to bet her innocence against his ten thousand pounds?a wager he only proposed to warn her off gambling.
When she loses to a simple draw of the cards, Lydia is shocked. Now, her problems are twofold: a blackmailer determined to see her pay and a duke determined to tame her rebellious ways. One misstep and Lydia could find herself ruined?or bound to the seductive man who would make her his duchess.

What people are saying - Write a review

User ratings

5 stars
6
4 stars
5
3 stars
1
2 stars
4
1 star
0

I love her prose and the lyrical style of her writing. - Goodreads
She writes her stories at just the right pace. - Goodreads
I like her writing style and her characters. - Goodreads

Review: The Accidental Duchess (Fairbourne Quartet #4)

User Review  - Guilty Pleasures - Goodreads

Angeline's review posted on Guilty Pleasures Book Reviews 2.75 STARS Review copy provided for an honest review The Accidental Duchess is book 4 in Madeline Hunter's Fairbourne Quartet Series. These ... Read full review

Review: The Accidental Duchess (Fairbourne Quartet #4)

User Review  - Kelly - Goodreads

Eh, this was an ok story as far as romance novels go, but I really expected a stronger story. In previous books in this series both Lydia and Penthurst have been presented as the ultimate rule ... Read full review

About the author (2014)

MaryJanice Davidson is the bestselling author of several books, most recently Undead and UnstableUndead and UnderminedUndead and Unfinished, Undead and UnwelcomeUndead and Unworthy, and Dead Over Heels. With her husband, Anthony Alongi, she also writes a series featuring a teen weredragon named Jennifer Scales. MaryJanice lives in Minneapolis with her husband and two children and is currently working on her next book.

Bibliographic information