Table for Seven: A Novel

Front Cover
Bantam Books, 2013 - Fiction - 400 pages
2 Reviews
A warm and witty novel about friendship, fine dining, and learning that life doesn't always turn out quite how we expect it to—perfect for fans of Barbara O'Neal and Nancy Thayer

On New Year's Eve, Fran and Will Parrish host a dinner party, serving their friends a gourmet feast. The night is such a success that the group decides to form a monthly dinner party club. But what starts as an excuse to enjoy the company of fellow foodies ends up having lasting repercussions on each member of the Table for Seven Dinner Party Club.

Fran and Will face the possibility that their comfortable marriage may not be as infallible as they once thought. Audrey has to figure out how to move on and start a new life after the untimely death of her young husband. Perfectionist Jaime suspects that her husband, Mark, might be having an affair. Coop, a flirtatious bachelor who never commits to a third date, is blindsided when he falls in love for the first time. Leland, a widower, is a wise counselor and firm believer that bacon makes everything taste better.

Over the course of a year, against a backdrop of mouthwatering meals, relationships are forged, marriages are tested, and the members of the Table for Seven Dinner Party Club find their lives forever changed.

Praise for Table for Seven

“A fun and delectable journey of love, friendship and delicious food.”RT Book Reviews

“[Whitney] Gaskell's engaging novel is a high-wire artist's performance as she spins a highly entertaining tale of a monthly dinner party.”Booklist

“[Table for Seven] invites readers to monthly dinner parties featuring mouthwatering menus and a group of guests dealing not so well with various relationship issues. . . . Gaskell has mastered the art of putting the fun in dysfunctional.”Kirkus Reviews
 

What people are saying - Write a review

LibraryThing Review

User Review  - Hanneri - LibraryThing

Table For Seven was a good read. The novel is about seven people that decided to start a dinner club. What starts out as a dinner club soon turns into an interesting turn of events. As each member ... Read full review

LibraryThing Review

User Review  - mchwest - LibraryThing

I've never read anything by this author before and although the pace of the book was slow it was an enjoyable slow. I liked all the characters, even the ones you're not supposed to like and she went ... Read full review

Selected pages

Contents

Section 1
3
Section 2
5
Section 3
9
Section 4
39
Section 5
41
Section 6
48
Section 7
58
Section 8
70
Section 26
209
Section 27
217
Section 28
224
Section 29
241
Section 30
243
Section 31
263
Section 32
271
Section 33
273

Section 9
74
Section 10
76
Section 11
77
Section 12
79
Section 13
99
Section 14
113
Section 15
115
Section 16
119
Section 17
129
Section 18
157
Section 19
159
Section 20
186
Section 21
187
Section 22
201
Section 23
203
Section 24
205
Section 25
206
Section 34
280
Section 35
303
Section 36
305
Section 37
311
Section 38
322
Section 39
337
Section 40
344
Section 41
345
Section 42
347
Section 43
378
Section 44
379
Section 45
381
Section 46
383
Section 47
391
Section 48
393
Section 49
401
Copyright

Other editions - View all

Common terms and phrases

About the author (2013)

Whitney Gaskell is the author of eight books, including Mommy Tracked and Good Luck. She lives in Stuart, Florida, with her husband and son.

Bibliographic information