Defender

Front Cover
Random House Children's Books, 2016 - Young Adult Fiction - 227 pages
From the Edgar Award--winning author of Acceleration comes a mystery about an old murder and new truths, perfect for fans of Barry Lyga, Madeleine Roux, and Michelle Gagnon.

They call her Tiny, but Tyne Greer is six foot six, a high school basketball star who is hoping the game will be her ticket out of the slum. She lives in a run-down building called The Zoo, where her father is the superintendent. One day she discovers a crack in the wall of an abandoned basement room. And sealed up in the wall is a girl's body. Horrified, she runs to get her dad. But after he goes to take a look, he comes back and tells Tyne that nothing's there. No girl. No body. He tells her she must be seeing things in the dark.

Tyne is sure it was real, though, and when she finds evidence that the body was moved from the hole in the wall, she knows the only one who could have done it is her father. But why? What is he hiding?

Tyne's search for answers uncovers a conspiracy of secrets and lies in her family. The closer she gets to the truth, the more dangerous it becomes for her. Because some will do anything to bury the past . . . and keep her silent.

 

What people are saying - Write a review

DEFENDER

User Review  - Kirkus

Finding a long-dead body in the basement of her run-down Toronto apartment building sends Tyne searching for uncomfortable truths. Ironically nicknamed "Tiny," 6-foot-6-inch Tyne sees basketball as ... Read full review

Selected pages

Contents

Section 1
3
Section 2
7
Section 3
14
Section 4
18
Section 5
24
Section 6
32
Section 7
37
Section 8
40
Section 21
118
Section 22
123
Section 23
130
Section 24
135
Section 25
140
Section 26
148
Section 27
153
Section 28
158

Section 9
50
Section 10
54
Section 11
58
Section 12
64
Section 13
68
Section 14
75
Section 15
81
Section 16
90
Section 17
94
Section 18
98
Section 19
108
Section 20
113
Section 29
169
Section 30
173
Section 31
183
Section 32
189
Section 33
197
Section 34
203
Section 35
207
Section 36
211
Section 37
218
Section 38
222
Section 39
227
Copyright

Other editions - View all

Common terms and phrases

About the author (2016)

Graham McNamee won the Edgar Award for Acceleration. He also wrote the thrillers Bonechiller and Beyond. A creature of the night, he lives in the dark.

Bibliographic information