The Boys in the Boat: Nine Americans and Their Epic Quest for Gold at the 1936 Berlin Olympics

Front Cover
Penguin, 2013 - Sports & Recreation - 404 pages
3720 Reviews
For readers of Laura Hillenbrand's Seabiscuit and Unbroken, the dramatic story of the American rowing team that stunned the world at Hitler's 1936 Berlin Olympics

Daniel James Brown's robust book tells the story of the University of Washington's 1936 eight-oar crew and their epic quest for an Olympic gold medal, a team that transformed the sport and grabbed the attention of millions of Americans. The sons of loggers, shipyard workers, and farmers, the boys defeated elite rivals first from eastern and British universities and finally the German crew rowing for Adolf Hitler in the Olympic games in Berlin, 1936.

The emotional heart of the story lies with one rower, Joe Rantz, a teenager without family or prospects, who rows not for glory, but to regain his shattered self-regard and to find a place he can call home. The crew is assembled by an enigmatic coach and mentored by a visionary, eccentric British boat builder, but it is their trust in each other that makes them a victorious team. They remind the country of what can be done when everyone quite literally pulls together—a perfect melding of commitment, determination, and optimism.

Drawing on the boys' own diaries and journals, their photos and memories of a once-in-a-lifetime shared dream, The Boys in the Boat is an irresistible story about beating the odds and finding hope in the most desperate of times—the improbable, intimate story of nine working-class boys from the American west who, in the depths of the Great Depression, showed the world what true grit really meant. It will appeal to readers of Erik Larson, Timothy Egan, James Bradley, and David Halberstam's The Amateurs.


 

What people are saying - Write a review

User ratings

5 stars
2298
4 stars
1082
3 stars
264
2 stars
64
1 star
12

LibraryThing Review

User Review  - ikeman100 - LibraryThing

Great read. Follows the epic path of an amazing university crew in their quest to survive the Great Depression, succeed in life and win Olympic gold. You will learn a lot about the first half of the 20th century with out even trying. Well written hard to put down. Read full review

LibraryThing Review

User Review  - HunyBadger - LibraryThing

Didn't love the your readers version although it was interesting enough. I wanted more,which probably the adult version had, but young readers lacked. Read full review

Contents

Prologue
1
Touching the Divine
227
Epilogue
357
Authors Note
373
Copyright

Other editions - View all

Common terms and phrases

About the author (2013)

Daniel James Brown is the author of two previous nonfiction books, The Indifferent Stars Above and Under a Flaming Sky, which was a finalist for a Barnes & Noble Discover Award. He has taught writing at San Jose State University and Stanford University. He lives outside Seattle.

Bibliographic information