The Railway Detective

Front Cover
Allison & Busby, May 20, 2005 - Fiction - 318 pages
1 Review
In 1851 England, the city of London anticipates the grand opening of the Great Expedition. Excitement is mounting with each engineering triumph of the railways, but not everyone feels like celebrating. A sudden attack hits the London to Birmingham mail train and it is looted and derailed. Planned with military precision, Detective Inspector Robert Colbeck fights to untangle a web of murder, blackmail and destruction. As Colbeck closes in on the criminal masterminds, events take an unexpected turn when the beautiful Madeline, daughter of the injured train driver, becomes a pawn in the criminals game. With time running out, good and evil, new and old, battle against each other. But will the long arm of the law have speed on its side? Full of historical detail, unexpected twists and memorable characters, this is a mystery that will surprise you at every turn.REVIEWS "A thoroughly enjoyable Victorian crime novel, a must for aficionados. For the general reader in search of fresh entertainment, and well worth reading."Historical Novels Review"

What people are saying - Write a review


User Review  - Not Available - Book Verdict

Set in 1850s England, Marston's excellent new historical series features a Scotland Yard detective with attitude. Inspector Robert Colbeck tends to look down on local cops and tells them so. When ... Read full review

Review: The Railway Detective (Detective Inspector Robert Colbeck #1)

User Review  - Jill - Goodreads

Very light reading but not without interest. This is the first of a series by Marston which is set in Victorian England at the beginning of the railroad age. The author appears to know his railroad ... Read full review

Other editions - View all

About the author (2005)

Edward Marston was born and brought up in South Wales. A full-time writer for over thirty years, he has worked in radio, film, television and the theatre, and is a former chairman of the Crime Writers Association. He is the author of sixty crime novels set in seven distinct periods of history, and a master of historical fiction. He is the author of the hugely successful Railway Detective series.

Bibliographic information