Lost Daughters

Front Cover
Kensington Publishing Corporation, May 28, 2013 - Fiction - 384 pages
3 Reviews
From the "masterful storyteller"(Philadelphia Inquirer) and New York Times bestselling author of Red Light Wives and Mama Ruby, comes the long-awaited, spectacular sequel to The Upper Room the trailblazing book that launched Mary Monroe's literary career.

Maureen Montgomery still can't believe she was able to break away from her dominating Mama Ruby. Her happy, secure life with her husband Mel is more than Maureen ever dared hope for. And helping her pretty teenage daughter Loretta achieve her modeling dreams helps Maureen keep her bizarre childhood and disturbing memories firmly behind her

Until Mel and Loretta run off together, claiming they're in love. Now the only way Maureen can face down the past and forge new bonds is to draw on more strength than she ever thought she had to make a future that is truly hers.

What people are saying - Write a review

LibraryThing Review

User Review  - amilligan - LibraryThing

This was a new genre for me and I was eager to see what it was like. I found the plot very slow and the character Maureen very weak,and nothing of consequence happened for ages. I kept putting it ... Read full review

LibraryThing Review

User Review  - aeisen - LibraryThing

I have not read "The Upper Room", however, I don't think it was necessary to enjoy the book or get invested in the characters. I thought the story was interesting and I enjoyed reading it, the story had way too many strange coincidences though. Read full review

Other editions - View all

About the author (2013)

Mary Monroe is the third child of Alabama sharecroppers, and the first and only member of her family to finish high school. Mary never attended college or any writing classes. Her first novel, The Upper Room, was published in 1985 and was widely reviewed throughout the U.S. and in Great Britain. She is a recipient of the PEN/Oakland Josephine Miles Award for her novel God Don't Like Ugly. She has just finished the fourth book in this series, God Ain't through Yet.

Bibliographic information