The Ice Pick Artist: A Carl Wilcox Mystery

Front Cover
Walker, Nov 1, 1997 - Fiction - 240 pages
0 Reviews
"No mystery collection should be without this series". -- Booklist

Harold Adams again brings life on the northern Plains during the Depression into vivid focus as Carl Wilcox returns to his hometown of Cordon, South Dakota in time to discover the body of a beautiful woman in her bed in his family's hotel. His investigation into why someone would kill Lillybelle Fox of Sioux Falls begins simply enough...and then becomes increasingly complex as each lead takes Wilcox into the past and the blighted family tree of one of the most powerful clans in the state.

"At their best moments, Adams's spare, Depression-era mysteries are oddly reminiscent of Simenons's darkest Maigret books. (Hatchet Job is) one of the more engaging entries in this off-beat series -- with tersely credible dialogue, vivid sketches of prairie-town hypocrites, and anything-but-nosalgic period atmosphere". -- Kirkus Reviews

"Carl Wilcox is one of the most distinctive first-person voices in contemporary detective fiction". -- Jon Breen, Ellery Queen's Mystery Magazine

"I can't think of a single reason why anyone wouldn't love all of Harold Adams's books. He's a first-rate-storyteller. And Carl Wilcox is very good company indeed". -- Harriet Stay, Mystery News

What people are saying - Write a review

We haven't found any reviews in the usual places.

About the author (1997)

Harold Adams was born in Clark, South Dakota in 1923. He worked at the Minnesota Charities Review Council and the Better Business Bureau. He wrote the Carl Wilcox Mystery series, The Thief Who Stole Heaven, When Rich Men Die, and The Fourth of July Wake. He won the Private Eye Writers of America's Shamus Award and a Minnesota Book Award for The Man Who Was Taller than God. He died on April 4, 2014 at age of 91.

Bibliographic information