Dreamers Often Lie

Front Cover
Penguin Young Readers Group, 2016 - JUVENILE FICTION - 353 pages
New York Timesbestselling author Jacqueline West makes her YA debut in this Shakespeare-inspired novel for fans of Holly Black and Laini Taylor

"If you liked the trippy hallucinations ofBlack Swan, you'll be mesmerized by Jacqueline West's eerie new YA romance."-Entertainment Weekly

Who can you trust when you can't trust yourself?

Jaye wakes up from a skiiing accident with a fractured skull, a blinding headache, and her grip on reality sliding into delusion. Determined to get back to her starring role in the school production of A Midsummer Night's Dream, Jaye lies to her sister, her mom, her doctors. She's fine, she says. She's fine. If anyone knew the truth-that hallucinations of Shakespeare and his characters have followed her from her hospital bed to the high school halls-it would all be over. She's almost managing to pull off the act when Romeo shows up in her anatomy class. And it turns out that he's 100 percent real. Suddenly Jaye has to choose between lying to everyone else and lying to herself.

Troubled by this magnetic boy, a long-lost friend turned recent love interest, and the darkest parts of her family's past, Jaye's life tangles with Shakespeare's most famous plays until she can't tell where the truth ends and pretending begins. Soon, secret meetings and dizzying first kisses give way to more dangerous things. How much is real, how much is in Jaye's head, and how much does it matter as she flies toward a fate over which she seems to have no control?
 

What people are saying - Write a review

LibraryThing Review

User Review  - srsharms - LibraryThing

A vivid, imaginative portrayal of how chillingly easy it is for a teenage girl to be convinced of her worthlessness/uselessness/etc. by those around her, and the consequences that result. ★★★★☆. Read full review

DREAMERS OFTEN LIE

User Review  - Kirkus

After sustaining a head injury, a girl is plagued by hallucinations of Shakespeare's players and soon becomes embroiled in familiar plots. Upon awakening in the hospital after a traumatic skiing ... Read full review

Selected pages

Contents

Section 1
1
Section 2
31
Section 3
42
Section 4
62
Section 5
71
Section 6
85
Section 7
106
Section 8
124
Section 12
236
Section 13
250
Section 14
261
Section 15
265
Section 16
269
Section 17
286
Section 18
326
Section 19
345

Section 9
149
Section 10
169
Section 11
190
Section 20
355
Section 21
357
Copyright

Other editions - View all

Common terms and phrases

About the author (2016)

A two-time Pushcart nominee for poetry, Jacqueline West is the author of the kid- and critic-beloved middle-grade series, The Books of Elsewhere. Jacqueline lives amid the bluffs of Red Wing, Minnesota, with her husband, son, and their dog, Brom Bones. This is her sixth novel, her first for teens.

Bibliographic information