Cold Grave

Front Cover
Simon & Schuster, 2012 - Detective and mystery stories - 441 pages
Even the coldest case will eventually crack.
November 1993. Scotland is in the grip of the coldest winter in living memory and the Lake of Menteith is frozen over. A young man and woman walk across the ice to the historic island of Inchmahome which lies in the middle of the lake. Only the man comes back.
In the spring, as staff prepare the abbey ruins for summer visitors, they discover the unidentifiable remains of the body of a girl, her skull violently crushed.
Twenty years later, present day. Retired detective Alan Narey is still haunted by the unsolved crime. Desperate to relieve her father's conscience DS Rachel Narey returns to the Lake of Menteith and unofficially reopens the cold case.
With the help of police photographer Tony Winter, Rachel discovers that the one man her father had always suspected was the killer has recently died. Risking her job and reputation, Narey prepares a dangerous gambit to uncover the killer's identity - little knowing who that truly is. Despite the freezing temperatures the ice cold case begins to thaw, and with it a tide of secrets long frozen in time are suddenly and shockingly unleashed.
Praise for Craig Robertson
'Cracking dialogue, a captivating plot and that wonderful sense of place' The Australian
'A revenge thriller with a twist' Sun

What people are saying - Write a review

User ratings

5 stars
4 stars
3 stars
2 stars
1 star

LibraryThing Review

User Review  - the.ken.petersen - LibraryThing

I am surprised to find that this is the third in the series of DS Rachel Narey novels. It has the feel of a first outing. The story is strong, but the characters are indistinct. I feel that having ... Read full review

LibraryThing Review

User Review  - jkdavies - LibraryThing

This had a lot more going for it, imo, than Random, the first book I read by Craig Robertson. I really liked the unpeeling of the story from the 70's, and all the characters felt realistic and rounded ... Read full review

Other editions - View all

About the author (2012)

Craig Robertson was born on April 22, 1962 in England. He is the author of Random, Snapshot, Cold Grave, The Last Refuge, Witness to the Dead and Murderabilia. He started out as a journalist with a Scottish Sunday newspaper. During his 20-year career there he interviewed three Prime Ministers, covered major stories including 9/11, Dunblane, and the disappearance of Madeleine McCann.

Bibliographic information