The Last Telegram

Front Cover
Sourcebooks, Incorporated, 2013 - Fiction - 405 pages
3 Reviews

"A book to savor."-Kate Furnivall, author of The Russian Concubine

We all make mistakes. Some we can fix.
But what happens when we can't?

Decades ago, as Nazi planes dominated the sky, Lily Verner made a terrible choice. She's tried to forget, but now an unexpected event pulls her back to the 1940s British countryside. She finds herself remembering the brilliant colors of the silk she helped to weave at her family's mill, the relentless pressure of the worsening war, and the kind of heartbreaking loss that stops time.

In this evocative novel of love and consequences, Lily finally confronts the disastrous decision that has haunted her all these years. The Last Telegram uncovers the surprising truth about how the stories we weave about our lives are threaded with truth, guilt, and forgiveness.

"Sparked my interest from the start...charming."-Sharon Knoth, Between the Covers, Harbor Springs, MI

"This book will easily appeal to fans of The Guernsey Literary and Potato Peel Pie Society, and I can see it quickly becoming a favorite of book clubs."-Billie Bloebaum, Powell's Books

What people are saying - Write a review

LibraryThing Review

User Review  - Karin7 - LibraryThing

Lily Verner, daughter of a silk miller, is grieving the recent loss of her husband and thinks back over a significant part of her life. She had learned to weave silk when her year in Switzerland was ... Read full review

LibraryThing Review

User Review  - pjhess - LibraryThing

I enjoyed this authors first book. The Last Telegram takes place in the British countryside during WWII. How Lily finds love with a refugee and has to take over managing her families factory making ... Read full review

Other editions - View all

About the author (2013)

Liz Trenow is a former BBC and newspaper journalist, now working freelance. She is also the author of The Last Telegram.

Bibliographic information