The Darkness that Comes Before

Front Cover
Overlook Press, 2004 - Fiction - 589 pages
364 Reviews
Strikingly original in its conception, ambitious in scope, with characters engrossingly and vividly drawn, the first book in R. Scott Bakker's Prince of Nothing series creates a remarkable world from whole cloth--its language and classes of people, its cities, religions, mysteries, taboos, and rituals--the kind of all-embracing universe Tolkien and Herbert created unforgettably in The Lord of the Rings and Dune. It's a world scarred by an apocalyptic past, evoking a time both two thousand years past and two thousand years into the future, as untold thousands gather for a crusade. Among them, two men and two women are ensnared by a mysterious traveler, Anasurimbor Kellhus--part warrior, part philosopher, part sorcerous, charismatic presence--from lands long thought dead. With this stunning debut, R. Scott Bakker is poised to become one of the next great fantasy writers of his generation. The Darkness That Comes Before proves again that epic fantasy can be intelligent, majestic, and terrifying.

What people are saying - Write a review

User ratings

5 stars
4 stars
3 stars
2 stars
1 star

Beautifully imaginative, intellgent prose. - Goodreads
really hard to read but it was worth it! - Goodreads
Great writing definitely not a quick read. - Goodreads
Prose is arrogant & sloggish. - Goodreads
Really intricate storytelling. - Goodreads
I thought the political/war-making plot would get dry. - Goodreads

Review: The Darkness That Comes Before (The Prince of Nothing #1)

User Review  - Kris Zaragoza - Goodreads

it was ok. it didn't really pick up until the last third of it. I was hoping there'd be more sorcery in it. true to the reviews before, it's a bit unwieldy as he lays out the different factions and ... Read full review

Review: The Darkness That Comes Before (The Prince of Nothing #1)

User Review  - Ken Parker - Goodreads

Very dark and complex fantasy. Read full review

All 8 reviews »

About the author (2004)

R. Scott Bakker's previous books include the Prince of nothing trilogy: The Darkness that Comes Before, The Warrior Prophet, and The Thousandfold Thought. the Aspect-Emperor series is a sequel trilogy that began with The Judging Eye. R. Scott Bakker lives in London, Ontario.

Bibliographic information