Resurrectionist: A Regency Crime Thriller

Front Cover
Pegasus Crime, 2012 - Fiction - 472 pages
4 Reviews
Death can be a lucrative business. But it's the corpses the body-snatchers leave behind, horribly mutilated and nailed to a tree, which sets Bow Street Runner Matthew Hawkwood on their trail.           A new term at London's anatomy schools stokes demand for fresh corpses, and the city's "resurrection men" vie for control of the market. Their rivalry takes an ugly turn when a grave robber is brutally murdered and his body displayed as a warning to other gangs. To hunt down those responsible, Hawkwood must venture into London's murkiest corners, where even more gruesome discoveries await him.            Nowhere, however, is as grim as Bedlam, notorious asylum for the insane and scene of another bizarre killing. Sent to investigate, Hawkwood finds himself pitted against his most formidable adversary yet, an obsessive genius hell-bent on advancing the cause of science at all costs.

What people are saying - Write a review

LibraryThing Review

User Review  - Irena. - LibraryThing

From the historical notes in the book: "By any definition, body snatching is and was a foul trade, and yet there is no doubt that during the late eighteenth and early nineteenth centuries, prior to ... Read full review


User Review  - Jane Doe - Kirkus

Why would an escapee from Bedlam need an endless supply of fresh cadavers?Reverend Tombs makes it his habit to visit Col. Titus Hyde during his incarceration for melancholia in Britain's notorious ... Read full review

Other editions - View all

About the author (2012)

James McGee grew up in Gibraltar, Germany, and Northern Ireland. He has traveled extensively in Europe, the United States, Australia and the Far East, but nowadays resides in Somerset, England. Five books from his Hawkwood series are available from Pegasus Books: Hawkwood, Resurrectionist, Rapscallion, Rebellion and The Blooding.

Bibliographic information