Beneath the Neon Egg

Front Cover
Bloomsbury Publishing USA, Aug 5, 2014 - Fiction - 192 pages
0 Reviews

Beneath the Neon Egg is a novel of jazz, violence, sex, death, love, and the underbelly of life, set in the low light of a Copenhagen winter. It is the story of Patrick Bluett, a forty-three-year-old Irish-American in Denmark, divorced and navigating his relationship with his college-age children, searching for life in a new country. It is also the story of his neighbor, a man in a similar circumstance who becomes his friend-and becomes entangled with a Russian prostitute.

The novel borrows its four-part structure from John Coltrane's majestic jazz symphony A Love Supreme, which Patrick Bluett listens to as he gazes out the window at the frozen streets of his adopted city, unaware of events in the apartment across the hall, and unaware of the consequences his friend will meet-or will, perhaps, escape.

The final novel of Thomas E. Kennedy's acclaimed Copenhagen Quartet-four independent novels about the seasons and souls of Copenhagen-Beneath the Neon Egg cements Kennedy's reputation as a literary revelation.


What people are saying - Write a review


User Review  - Jane Doe - Kirkus

With this fourth stand-alone volume, Kennedy’s Copenhagen Quartet draws to a desultory close.Bluett, the protagonist, has much in common with the Kerrigan of Kerrigan in Copenhagen (2013), this novel ... Read full review

Beneath the Neon Egg

User Review  - Pamela Mann - Book Verdict

This latest novel from Kennedy, author of "The Copenhagen Quartet" series, concerns recently divorced Patrick Bluett's midlife crisis. An American who has spent most of his adult life and all of his ... Read full review


e Damned Dont
Like Paradise

Other editions - View all

Common terms and phrases

About the author (2014)

Thomas E. Kennedy's many books include novels, story and essay collections, literary criticism, translations, and anthologies. He teaches in the M.F.A. program at Fairleigh Dickinson University. Beneath the Neon Egg is the final book in his Copenhagen Quartet, following In the Company of Angels, Falling Sideways, and Kerrigan in Copenhagen. Born and raised in New York, he lives in Copenhagen with his two children.
Visit his websites at and

Bibliographic information