Murder in the Telephone Exchange

Front Cover
Verse Chorus Press, Jun 10, 2014 - Fiction - 368 pages
2 Reviews
First published in 1948, when it was the best-selling mystery of the year in the author’s native Australia, Murder in the Telephone Exchange stars feisty young operator Maggie Byrnes. When one of her more unpopular colleagues is murdered — her head bashed in with a “buttinsky,” a piece of equipment used to listen in on phone calls — Maggie resolves to turn sleuth. Some of her coworkers are acting strangely, and Maggie is convinced she has a better chance of figuring out who is responsible for the killing than the rather stolid police team assigned to the case, who seem to think she herself might have had something to do with it. But then one of her friends is murdered too, and it looks like Maggie might be next. Narrated with verve and wit, this is a whodunit in the tradition of Dorothy L. Sayers and Daphne du Maurier, by turns entertaining and suspenseful, and building to a gripping climax.
 

What people are saying - Write a review

LibraryThing Review

User Review  - quiBee - LibraryThing

This book was written in 1948 and is a period mystery set in the Melbourne Telephone Exchange. The heroine seems to believe she's Nancy Drew and sets to work to discover who murdered a colleague, all the while withholding vital information from the police in a very annoying manner. Read full review

LibraryThing Review

User Review  - smik - LibraryThing

There are a few hints in the story about the time frame of this novel. It is set in Melbourne very definitely after World War One and very likely after World War Two, about the time of publication ... Read full review

Selected pages

Contents

Section 1
58
Section 2
81
Section 3
103
Section 4
133
Section 5
211
Section 6
246
Section 7
263
Section 8
275
Section 9
291
Section 10
305
Section 11
329
Copyright

Other editions - View all

Common terms and phrases

About the author (2014)

June Wright (1919–2012) was born in Melbourne, Australia, and in her lifetime published six mystery novels, beginning with Murder in the Telephone Exchange in 1948.

Bibliographic information