Concentrator Photovoltaics

Front Cover
Antonio Luque López, Viacheslav M. Andreev
Springer Berlin Heidelberg, Aug 22, 2007 - Technology & Engineering - 346 pages

Photovoltaic solar-energy conversion is one of the most promising technologies for generating renewable energy, and conversion of concentrated sunlight can lead to reduced cost for solar electricity. In fact, photovoltaic conversion of concentrated sunlight insures an efficient and cost-effective sustainable power resource. This book gives an overview of all components, e.g. cells, concentrators, modules and systems, for systems of concentrator photovoltaics. The authors report on significant results related to design, technology, and applications, and also cover the fundamental physics and market considerations. Specific contributions include: theory and practice of sunlight concentrators; an overview of concentrator PV activities; a description of concentrator solar cells; design and technology of modules and systems; manufacturing aspects; and a market study.

What people are saying - Write a review

We haven't found any reviews in the usual places.

Other editions - View all

About the author (2007)

A.Luque: Engineer and Doctor Engineer form the Polytechnic University of Madrid (School of Telecommunications). Professor at the Politechnic University of Mdrid since 1970. Founder of the Solar Energy Institute at his University in 1978, Founder of the Company Isofotón –today the 8th world producer of solar cell- in 1981 and President until 1990, Inventor of the Bifacial Cell and of the Intermediate Band Solar Cell. Two doctorates Honoris Causa Member of three scientific academies. Several National and International prizes (including Becquerel Prize). Author of numerous publications.

V.Andreev: Graduated Electrotechnical University, St.Petersburg, Russia in 1963 and started scientific carrier at the IOFFE Physico-Technical Institute in St.Petersburg. Scientific achievements: technology of AlGaAs/GaAs heterostructures (1967), inventions in AlGaAs/GaAs light emitting diodes (1967), heterolasers (1969), AlGaAs/GaAs solar cells (1969), high efficiency concentrator solar cells, concentrator PV installations and thermophotovoltaic devices. European Becquerel Prize for outstanding merits in Photovoltaics (2001).