Standard Deviation

Front Cover
HarperCollins Publishers Limited, May 17, 2018 - Asperger's syndrome in children - 336 pages
9 Reviews
Reviews aren't verified, but Google checks for and removes fake content when it's identified
'One of the funniest books you will ever read' Daily Mail



'Standard Deviation is a marvel' Kate Atkinson



'Looking for a blissful summer novel? Here it is' Washington Post



'This is the beach book for summer 2017' The Times



'Addictive reading' Mail on Sunday



'A comic masterpiece' Observer

A divinely funny novel about the challenges of a good marriage, the delight and heartache of raising children, and the irresistible temptation to wonder about the path not taken. This sensational debut will appeal to fans of David Nicholls, Nick Hornby, Nora Ephron and Lorrie Moore.



Graham Cavanaugh's second wife, Audra, is everything his first wife was not. She considers herself privileged to live in the age of the hair towel, talks non-stop through her epidural, labour and delivery, invites the doorman to move in and the eccentric members of their son's Origami Club to Thanksgiving. She is charming and spontaneous and fun but life with her can be exhausting.



In the midst of the day-to-day difficulties and delights of marriage and raising a child with Asperger's, his first wife, Elspeth, reenters Graham's life. Former spouses are hard to categorize - are they friends, enemies, old flames, or just people who know you really, really well? Graham starts to wonder: How can anyone love two such different women? Did he make the right choice? Is there a right choice?

What people are saying - Write a review

User ratings

5 stars
3
4 stars
4
3 stars
2
2 stars
0
1 star
0

Reviews aren't verified, but Google checks for and removes fake content when it's identified

LibraryThing Review

User Review  - rmarcin - LibraryThing

Oh my goodness, this book is an interesting take on relationships and parenting, so charming. I laughed out loud at several parts of the book, it was very amusing at times. I loved Graham's outlook ... Read full review

LibraryThing Review

User Review  - LynnB - LibraryThing

This is a light read about Graham, married to Audra and recently befriending his former wife, Elspeth. The two women are complete opposites. I enjoyed Audra as a character, but found her a little ... Read full review

Other editions - View all

About the author (2018)

Katherine Heiny is the author of Single, Carefree, Mellow, a fantastically received short story collection. She lives in Washington, D.C., with her husband and children.

Bibliographic information