The Boat Runner: A Novel

Front Cover
HarperCollins, Sep 5, 2017 - Fiction - 400 pages

National Bestseller

In the tradition of All The Light We Cannot See and The Nightingale, comes an incandescent debut novel about a young Dutch man who comes of age during the perilousness of World War II.

Beginning in the summer of 1939, fourteen-year-old Jacob Koopman and his older brother, Edwin, enjoy lives of prosperity and quiet contentment. Many of the residents in their small Dutch town have some connection to the Koopman lightbulb factory, and the locals hold the family in high esteem.

On days when they aren’t playing with friends, Jacob and Edwin help their Uncle Martin on his fishing boat in the North Sea, where German ships have become a common sight. But conflict still seems unthinkable, even as the boys’ father naively sends his sons to a Hitler Youth Camp in an effort to secure German business for the factory.

When war breaks out, Jacob’s world is thrown into chaos. The Boat Runner follows Jacob over the course of four years, through the forests of France, the stormy beaches of England, and deep within the secret missions of the German Navy, where he is confronted with the moral dilemma that will change his life—and his life’s mission—forever.

Epic in scope and featuring a thrilling narrative with precise, elegant language, The Boat Runner tells the little-known story of the young Dutch boys who were thrown into the Nazi campaign, as well as the brave boatmen who risked everything to give Jewish refugees safe passage to land abroad. Through one boy’s harrowing tale of personal redemption, here is a novel about the power of people’s stories and voices to shine light through our darkest days, until only love prevails. 

 

 

What people are saying - Write a review

User ratings

5 stars
5
4 stars
6
3 stars
2
2 stars
1
1 star
0

LibraryThing Review

User Review  - nwieme - LibraryThing

Started slowly. I liked it. I hated it. I liked it. There wasn't enough "boat runner" story, but it really was more about Jacob's coming to terms with who he was and who he was going to be. The Thump ... Read full review

LibraryThing Review

User Review  - brianfergusonwpg - LibraryThing

Set during the Second World War this is a saga of a young Dutchman watching family, country and society collapse. That might sound very grim, but the book is highly engaging, superbly written and ... Read full review

Other editions - View all

About the author (2017)

Devin Murphy is the nationally bestselling author of The Boat Runner. His fiction has appeared in more than sixty literary journals and anthologies, including The Missouri Review, Glimmer Train, and Confrontation. He is an Associate Professor at Bradley University and lives in Chicago with his wife and kids.

www.devinmurphyauthor.com

Bibliographic information