The Light Years

Front Cover
Home Place, Sussex, 1937. The English family at home...For two unforgettable summers they gathered together, safe from the advancing storm clouds of war. In the heart of the Sussex countryside these were still sunlit days of childish games, lavish family meals and picnics on the beach. Three generations of the Cazalet family played out their lives - with their relatives, their children and their servants - and the fascinating triangle of their affairs.

What people are saying - Write a review

User ratings

5 stars
4 stars
3 stars
2 stars
1 star

LibraryThing Review

User Review  - clue - LibraryThing

The Cazalet Chronicles is a series of five novels that follow the lives of an affluent English family from 1937 through 1947. The series was dramatized on the BBC and PBS in 2001. [The Light Years ... Read full review

LibraryThing Review

User Review  - ParadisePorch - LibraryThing

This wonderful book is the first the series known as the Cazalet Chronicles. The Cazalet family: Hugh, Edward, Rupert & unmarried sister Rachel all return each summer to their parents' home in Sussex ... Read full review

Other editions - View all

About the author (1993)

Elizabeth Jane Howard was the author of fifteen highly acclaimed novels. The Cazalet Chronicles - The Light Years, Marking Time, Confusion, Casting Off and All Change - have become established as modern classics and have been adapted for a major BBC television series and for BBC Radio 4. In 2002 Macmillan published Elizabeth Jane Howard's autobiography, Slipstream. In that same year she was awarded a CBE in the Queen's Birthday Honours List. She died, aged ninety, at home in Suffolk on 2 January 2014.

Bibliographic information