The Temporal Void

Front Cover
Pan, 2009 - Human-alien encounters - 745 pages
11 Reviews

The Intersolar Commonwealth is in turmoil as the Living Dream's deadline for launching its Pilgrimage into the Void draws closer. Not only is the Ocisen Empire fleet fast approaching on a mission of genocide, but also an internecine war has broken out between the post-human factions over the destiny of humanity.

Countering the various and increasingly desperate agents and factions is Paula Myo, a ruthlessly single-minded investigator, beset by foes from her distant past and colleagues of dubious allegiance...but she is fast losing a race against time.

At the heart of all this is Edeard the Waterwalker, who once lived a long time ago deep inside the Void. He is the messiah of Living Dream, and visions of his life are shared by, and inspire billions of humans. It is his glorious, captivating story that is the driving force behind Living Dream's Pilgrimage, a force that is too strong to be thwarted. As Edeard nears his final victory the true nature of the Void is finally revealed.

What people are saying - Write a review

User ratings

5 stars
4 stars
3 stars
2 stars
1 star

LibraryThing Review

User Review  - majkia - LibraryThing

Peter F. Hamilton continues to amaze with his elaborately constructed world-building, and complex imagination. Characters are numerous and deeply drawn and live in a world so different from ours, and ... Read full review

LibraryThing Review

User Review  - Larou - LibraryThing

The second volume of Hamilton’s Void trilogy. Most of it is taken up with the continuing story of Edeard, i.e. the Fantasy-ish narrative strand, and it is just as bad as in the first volume, only ... Read full review

Other editions - View all

About the author (2009)

Peter F Hamilton was born in Rutland in 1960, and still lives near Rutland Water. His previous novels include the Greg Mandel series and the bestselling and groundbreaking Night's Dawn trilogy. His most recent novels are Pandora's Star (2004) and Judas Unchained (2005) - which constitute the Commonwealth Saga - and The Dreaming Void (2007), the first novel in the Void trilogy.

Bibliographic information