The Weight of Ink

Front Cover
Houghton Mifflin Harcourt, Jun 6, 2017 - Fiction - 576 pages
3 Reviews
An intellectual and emotional jigsaw puzzle of a novel for readers of A. S. Byatt’s Possession and Geraldine Brooks’s People of the Book

Set in London of the 1660s and of the early twenty-first century, The Weight of Ink is the interwoven tale of two women of remarkable intellect: Ester Velasquez, an emigrant from Amsterdam who is permitted to scribe for a blind rabbi, just before the plague hits the city; and Helen Watt, an ailing historian with a love of Jewish history. 
As the novel opens, Helen has been summoned by a former student to view a cache of seventeenth-century Jewish documents newly discovered in his home during a renovation. Enlisting the help of Aaron Levy, an American graduate student as impatient as he is charming, and in a race with another fast-moving team of historians, Helen embarks on one last project: to determine the identity of the documents’ scribe, the elusive “Aleph.”
 
Electrifying and ambitious, sweeping in scope and intimate in tone, The Weight of Ink is a sophisticated work of historical fiction about women separated by centuries, and the choices and sacrifices they must make in order to reconcile the life of the heart and mind.  
 

What people are saying - Write a review

LibraryThing Review

User Review  - brangwinn - LibraryThing

I love historical fiction that revolves around modern day research and connecting it with periods of time and people of which I have just a basic knowledge. When historian, Helen Watts, is invited to ... Read full review

LibraryThing Review

User Review  - lauriebrown54 - LibraryThing

In the 1600s, Esther Velasquez is denied by Judaic law the right to read or write religious or philosophical works. In the 2000s, historian Helen Watt is having things mansplained to her by the ... Read full review

Selected pages

Contents

Part 1
3
Part 2
107
Part 3
219
Part 4
385
Part 5
479
Back Matter
563
Back Flap
569
Back Cover
570
Spine
571
Copyright

Other editions - View all

Common terms and phrases

About the author (2017)

RACHEL KADISH is the award-winning author of the novels From a Sealed Room and Tolstoy Lied: A Love Story, and of the novella I Was Here. Her work has appeared on NPR and in the New York Times, Ploughshares, and Tin House. She lives in the Boston area. 

Bibliographic information